Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

College of Fine Arts Recognizes Outstanding Graduates of 2016


JONESBORO – Seven students in the College of Fine Arts at Arkansas State University were recognized during Convocation of Scholars as the most outstanding graduating seniors, according to Dr. Don Bowyer, dean.

The Chancellor’s Scholar award was presented to Ashley Pratt of El Dorado, a theatre major, who had the highest overall grade point average (4.0) in the college.

In the Department of Art, the graduating senior awards were presented to Derek Parnell of Jonesboro, Bachelor of Fine Arts (BFA), art (studio art emphasis); Shawn Wright of Hardy, BFA, art (art education emphasis); and Lydia Howard of Blytheville, BFA, graphic design.

The most outstanding graduating senior award in the Department of Music was presented to Tyler Worsham of Keiser, who is completing the Bachelor of Music Education degree in instrumental music education.

The Department of Theatre graduate award recipients and their respective degree programs were Virginia Hirsch of Jacksonville, Bachelor of Arts (BA), theatre, and Jeremy Smith of Dumas, BFA, theatre (design technology emphasis).

Each award is based on academic achievement and contributions to the respective department.  In addition, numerous recipients of endowed scholarships for the 2016-17 academic year were announced.

# # #

FineArts2 web