Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

College of Engineering Presents Awards to Top Graduates during Convocation of Scholars Honors Ceremony


JONESBORO – Three students in the College of Engineering at Arkansas State University were recognized Wednesday evening during a Convocation of Scholars honors ceremony as the college’s most outstanding graduates, according to Dr. David Beasley, dean of the college.

The Chancellor’s Scholar award recipient was Christopher Howell of Cave City, an electrical engineering major. The Chancellor’s Scholar in each college is the graduating senior with the highest overall grade point average for the 2012-13 academic year.

The departmental awards are presented annually to the top graduating senior in each of the college’s academic degree programs.

The award recipients and their respective programs were:

  • Jarrett Cooper of Jonesboro, civil engineering;
  • Christopher Howell of Cave City, electrical engineering; and
  • Dustin Hundley of Wynne, mechanical engineering.

# # #