Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

College of Education and Behavioral Science Selects Top Grads


JONESBORO -- The College of Education and Behavioral Science at Arkansas State University recognized 18 outstanding graduating students for 2016-17 during a Convocation of Scholars awards ceremony, according to Dr. Mary Jane Bradley, dean of the college.

The Chancellor’s Scholar award for highest overall grade point in the college was presented to Jennifer Hacker of Jonesboro and Michaela Supple of Albuquerque, N.M.

Kathryn Collier of Harrison, Carissa Rogers of Harrison and Kristen Scarlett of Bryant received the 4.0 Graduate Award for completing their degree programs with a perfect grade point average.

The departmental awards are presented during Convocation of Scholars to the graduate in each degree program who has most excelled in scholarship, leadership and service to the department.

Those receiving awards and their respective degree programs, by department:

Department of Educational Leadership, Curriculum and Special Education:

Julie Roark of Jonesboro, Specialist in Education (Ed.S.),  educational leadership; Garrett Andrews of Jonesboro, Bachelor of Science in Education (BSE), special education.

Department of Health, Physical Education and Sport Sciences:

Michaela Supple of Albuquerque, Bachelor of Science (BS), exercise science; Rachel Lovell of Springdale, BS, health promotion; Mitchell Weber of Rector, BSE, physical education; Christyal Holloway of Maumelle, BS, sport management; and Dalton Smith of Shirley, BS, athletic training.

Department of Psychology and Counseling:

Madison Leigh Brooks of Benton, BS, psychology; Andrew J. Pearson of Maynard, Master of Rehabilitation Counseling; Karen M. Herrell of Marion, MSE, school counseling; Christopher R. Williams of Brookland, Ed.S., school psychology; Joylyn G. Bartlett of Jonesboro, Ed.S., clinical mental health counseling.

Department of Teacher Education and Leadership:

Kristen Scarlett of Bryant, BSE, elementary education; Brooke Sheppard of Harviell, Mo., BSE, middle level education; and Dereque Falls of Jonesboro, Master of Arts in Teaching (MAT).

# # #


CoS web graphic 17