Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

College of Education and Behavioral Science Names Top Grads


JONESBORO -- The College of Education and Behavioral Science at Arkansas State University recognized 25 outstanding graduating students for 2015-16 during a Convocation of Scholars awards ceremony Monday evening, according to Dr. Gina Hogue, interim dean of the college.

The Chancellor’s Scholar award for highest overall grade point in the college was presented to Jennifer L. Walker of North Little Rock, who has a 4.0 in the Bachelor of Science in Education in middle level education program.

Hannah McClung of Jonesboro received the 4.0 Graduate Award.  When a tie occurs, the Chancellor's Scholar is the individual with the most credit hours.

The departmental awards are presented during Convocation of Scholars to the graduate in each degree program who has most excelled in scholarship, leadership and service to the department.

Those receiving awards and their respective degree programs, by department:

Department of Educational Leadership, Curriculum and Special Education:

Amy Montgomery of Russellville, Master of Science in Education (MSE), curriculum and instruction; Joshua Robins of Paragould, MSE, educational leadership; Heather Slater of Cherokee Village, Master of Science in Education (MSE), special education instructional specialist P-4; Wendy Winston of Walnut Ridge, MSE, special education instructional specialist 4-12; Judy Beard of Hot Springs, MSE, special education, gifted, talented and creative; Misty Doyle of Jonesboro, Specialist in Education (Ed.S.),  educational leadership.

Department of Health, Physical Education and Sport Sciences:

Lyric Hupp of Lee's Summit, Mo., Bachelor of Science (BS), athletic training; Kaitlin A. Sellers of Hardy, BS, exercise science; Daisy C. Reding of Jonesboro, BS, health promotion; Kara DeShazo Taylor of Imboden, Bachelor of Science in Education (BSE), physical education; Miles Clover of Fort Smith, BS, sports management.

Department of Psychology and Counseling:

Cathryn Elizabeth Hall of Jonesboro, Bachelor of Science (BS), psychology; Ariel Nations of Marmaduke, Master of Rehabilitation Counseling; Savanna Foster of Poplar Grove, MSE, school counseling; Michelle Cebada Sencion of Veracruz, Mexico, Ed.S., school psychology; Ginah Smith of Whitehall, Ed.S., clinical mental health counseling.

Department of Teacher Education and Leadership:

Abbie Wilbanks of Jonesboro, BSE, early childhood education; Carson E. Gill of Paragould, BSE, middle level education; Margaret Campbell of Melbourne, MSE, reading; and Gary Jackson of Pocahontas, Master of Arts in Teaching (MAT).

Center for Excellence in Education:

Three individuals who are graduating with the Doctor of Education (Ed.D.) in educational leadership degree were named recipients of the Dr. Eugene W. Smith Fellowship Award.  They are Rodney Lancaster of Paragould, Dalia Tejada of Jonesboro, and Suhair Mrayan of Jonesboro.

# # #