Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

College of Communications and University College Honor Graduating Students during Convocation of Scholars


JONESBORO -- Six seniors in the College of Communications and two seniors in University College at Arkansas State University were honored during campus Convocation of Scholars ceremonies this week as the colleges’ most outstanding graduating students, according to Dr. Brad Rawlins, dean of the College of Communications, and Dr. Jill Simons, executive director of University College.

The Chancellor’s Scholar award in the College of Communications was presented to Morgan McKenzie of Trumann, a journalism major (public relations emphasis) with a 4.0 grade point average. The Chancellor’s Scholar is the graduating student in each college who has the highest GPA.

Rachel Carner of Bono, also a journalism major (news-editorial emphasis), received the 4.0 Scholar award. In case of a tie, the Chancellor’s Scholar is the student with the most credit hours completed.

The department awards, based on scholarship, leadership, and service, were presented to the top student in each degree program. Those graduating in December of 2012 as well as May and August of this year were eligible.

Those recognized were Ken Corbitt of Harrisburg, communication studies; Jana Waters of Jonesboro, journalism (advertising emphasis); Marcela Tapia of Mexico City, Mexico, radio-television (production audio/video emphasis).

One student, Tamitha Wynn of San Diego, a journalism major (photojournalism emphasis), received the Robert L. Hoskins Award, which is named in memory of the founding dean of the College of Communications. The award is based primarily on professional achievements outside the classroom.

In University College, Jonathan Stubblefield of Jonesboro received the Chancellor’s Scholar award for having the highest GPA.

Lucas Hickman of Gassville received the departmental award in the Bachelor of Science degree program in interdisciplinary studies.

# # #