Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

College of Business Granted Extended Accreditation


JONESBORO — The degree programs in Arkansas State University’s College of Business have been granted an extended accreditation for another five years by the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business International (AACSB).

Dr. Shane Hunt, dean of the College of Business, was notified that AACSB’s peer review team’s recommendation had been ratified by the organization’s Board of Directors. A-State’s last accreditation extension was January 2012.

"All of us in the A-State College of Business are incredibly proud to receive this great report and extension of AACSB accreditation for another five years,” stated Hunt. “This great news illustrates the truly outstanding faculty, staff, students and supporters that are part of the A-State College of Business family.  We are thankful to have been recognized as a truly world class business school and look forward to the great things ahead of us in the years to come."

Founded in 1916, AACSB International is the longest serving global accrediting body for business schools that offer bachelor, master’s, and doctoral degrees in business and accounting. It represents the highest standard of achievement for business schools worldwide. 

To maintain accreditation, a business program must undergo a rigorous internal review every five years, at which the program must demonstrate its continued commitment to the 15 global standards relating to faculty qualification, strategic management of resources, interactions of faculty and students, as well as a commitment to continuous improvement and achievement of learning goals in degree programs.

The A-State College of Business began as a Division of Business in 1946 and became the College of Business when Arkansas State was granted university status in 1967. The College of Business received initial AACSB accreditation of its bachelor degree programs in 1979 and accreditation of the MBA program in 1985.