Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

College of Agriculture Recognizes Top Graduating Students


JONESBORO – The most outstanding graduating seniors in agriculture and technology at Arkansas State University were recognized during the annual Convocation of Scholars honors banquet, according to Dr. Timothy Burcham, dean.

The Chancellor’s Scholar award was presented to Samuel King of Jonesboro, an agricultural studies major with an emphasis in agricultural systems technology, and Allyson Baugh of Jonesboro, an agribusiness major.

The departmental awards are based on scholarship, leadership and service. The graduating students who received these awards and their respective bachelor’s degree programs are:

  • Allyson Baugh, Bachelor of Science in Agriculture (BSA), agricultural business.

  • Hunter Grimes of Brookland, BSA, plant and soil science.

  • Tyler Lewis of Calico Rock, BSA, agricultural education.

  • Daniel Shults of Pine Bluff and Samuel King of Jonesboro, BSA, agricultural studies, agricultural systems technology emphasis.

  • Alexis Crull of Sturkie, BSA, animal science, pre-veterinary.

  • Derrick Holobaugh of Newport, Bachelor of Science (BS), technology.

The 4.0 Graduating Senior Award was presented to Addison Jacobs of Benton, Payton Jarrett Archer of Pocahontas, Homer Browning of Palestine, David McElyea of Jonesboro, and Alex Cliff of Dexter, Mo.

In addition, Kylie Meredith of Jonesboro, a double major in agribusiness and finance, received the O.P. Nail Outstanding Junior Award.

                                         # # #