Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

College of Agriculture Recognizes Top 2020 Graduating Students


JONESBORO – The College of Agriculture at Arkansas State University recognized its outstanding students for the 2019-20 academic year.  These awards are normally presented as part of Convocation of Scholars, but it was cancelled this year because of the pandemic.

The Chancellor Scholar Award for the highest overall GPA in the college was presented to Kaci Squires of Bryant, who completed a Bachelor of Science in Agriculture (BSA) degree with a major in animal science, pre-veterinary medicine and equine management, with a minor in biology.

The 4.0 Awards were presented to Squires, Kimberly Oliver of Stuttgart, Megan Bright of Bradford, and Savannah Wells of Paragould.  When there is a tie, the Chancellor's Scholar is the 4.0 student with the most credit hours.

The Outstanding Student departmental awards for are as follows:

-- Jackson Poe of Jonesboro, BSA, agricultural education

-- Luke Hinson of Jonesboro, BSA, agricultural systems technology

-- Trisha Davis of Mammoth Spring, BSA, agricultural business

-- Megan Bright of Bradford, BSA, animal science

-- Jessica Krob of Cordova, Tenn., BSA, agronomy (plant and soil science)

The Olen P. Nail Outstanding Junior Award was presented to Casey Arnold of Poplar Grove.

The Create@State Dean’s Award for undergraduate poster presentation went to Jessica Krob, for "Spatial variability of plant injury and response from Lygus lineolaris feeding in Mid-South cotton"; Dr. Tina Gray Teague & Dr. John Nowlin, mentors.

The Create@State Dean’s Award for graduate poster presentation went to Daniel Shults of Searcy, for "A Spatiotemporal analysis of surface water installation in the Cache and L’anguille river regions of Northeastern Arkansas"; Dr. John Nowlin, mentor.

# # #

Agriculture Building
College of Agriculture