Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

Chancellor’s Leadership Class Includes 34 Students Involved in Development Program


JONESBORO – Thirty-four promising first-year students comprise the third Chancellor’s Leadership Class (CLC) at Arkansas State University. Students are chosen for CLC based on their character, leadership involvement in school and community, evidence of service to others, academic performance, and potential for future success.


In weekly sessions, the class focuses on academics, leadership, campus involvement, service and cultural engagement.


“I’m excited to welcome this year’s class to A-State,” Chancellor Todd Shields said.  “We know that experience-based programs like the CLC play an important factor in connecting students.  We’re looking into ways we can expand this to other areas of campus in the future.”


A range of leaders from campus, the local community, and state and regional politics will provide guest lectures and interaction with the students. Like their predecessors, participants in the 2022 CLC will put their leadership skills into practice by working together on community service projects around campus.


Each participant will receive a $750 stipend upon successfully completing each semester, $1,500 total for the year.


Participating students with their major, hometown and high school (if different), for the 2022 Chancellor’s Leadership Class are, by county and state:


Magon James, animal science, pre-veterinary, DeWitt.



Mk Mashburn, health studies, Crossett (Arkansas School for Mathematics, Sciences and the Arts)

Christina Schwartz, radiologic sciences, Crossett.



Salma Abdel-Karim, biological sciences, pre-professional, Jonesboro

Jenna Hauge, exploratory, Jonesboro (Nettleton)

William Osborn, communication studies, Jonesboro (Brookland)

Elaina Parker, psychology, Jonesboro (Brookland)

Cameron Salo, creative media production, Jonesboro (Nettleton)

Alyssa Willie, exploratory, Jonesboro (Nettleton)         



Lauren Maness, international business, Marion

Tamyia Weatherspoon, business economics, West Memphis (Academies of West Memphis)



Alianzo Williams, psychology, Fordyce



Kyla Hallman, radiologic sciences, Conway

Charlie Lutz, exercise science, Greenbrier

Colby Thompson, creative media production, Conway     



Rocco Hicks, political science, Poyen

Renee Pye, biological sciences pre-professional, Sheridan



Nathan Johnson, exercise science, Concord



Erin Byrd, exploratory, Pine Bluff (White Hall)

Kacie Byrd, nursing, Pine Bluff (White Hall)

Anna Falls, biological sciences, Pine Bluff (Watson Chapel)



Kailey Moody, clinical laboratory science, Walnut Ridge (Hoxie)



Mollie McClain, chemistry pre-professional, Marianna (Lee Academy)



Luke Griffin, business administration, Cabot

Gavin Hargrove, chemistry, pre-pharmacy, Ward (Cabot High)

Abigail Roper, biological sciences pre-professional, Cabot



Cade Goldsmith, mechanical engineering, Camden (Fairview)



Candon Argo, exploratory, Lepanto (East Poinsett County)

Paige Fithen, electrical engineering, Lepanto (East Poinsett County)



Krystal Smith, strategic communication, Little Rock (Central Arkansas Christian)



Abrianna Franke, wildlife, fisheries and conservation, Cave City



Jade Fox, biological sciences, Dardanelle



Emma Shields, radiologic sciences, Jackson, Mo.  



Nellee Mae Rohrer, agricultural business, Dyersburg, Tenn.


In addition, the 2022-23 CLC interns are sophomores Addy Middleton of Bay, a political science major and Anna Lauren Thompson of Poyen, a wildlife, fisheries and conservation major. They are alumni of the 2021-22 leadership class.


For more details about the program, one may contact Jennifer Salo, director of the Emerging Scholars Program, jsalo@AState.edu or (870) 972-2980.

Students on campus.gif
Students walk across campus at Arkansas State University.