Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

ASU-TV to Stream Craighead County Spelling Bee Friday


JONESBORO — Arkansas State’s campus television station, ASU-TV, will carry a live video of the annual Craighead County Spelling Bee Friday, Feb. 5, at 10 a.m. Students, staff and volunteers at ASU-TV will serve as the production crew.

Winners will advance to the Arkansas state spelling bee, Saturday, March 12, in Reynolds Auditorium on the campus of the University of Central Arkansas in Conway.

The bee, featuring 92 spellers from schools throughout Craighead County, will compete in the event in Riceland Hall in Fowler Center, 201 Olympic Drive, on the A-State campus. To watch, access the link https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s4bDrbf4WZ0.

"The department of media is proud of its students and the service-learning projects we participate in, said Dr. Mary Jackson Pitts, multimedia journalism professor. “This real-world experience allows our students the opportunity to help the community.    The spelling bee is just one example of how our students produce programming that benefits the community."

Jackson Pitts went on to say ASU-TV has been involved with the spelling bee since 1988. It was originally held in the television studio on campus, but moved to Fowler Center three years ago.

ASU-TV student manager Caleb Silvey of Conway is the director for the program, while Kaitlyn Deford of Trumann is the graphics person. Camera operators are Colten Tripp of Cabot, Adeeja Anderson of Little Rock, Jenny Stewart of Jonesboro and Linsey Mills of Hot Springs. KASU program director Marty Scarbrough will serve as the word pronouncer and Sheila Walters is working with school sponsors. Three judges are available for the event.

The Arkansas Democrat-Gazette has sponsored the state bee since 1992. Prior to that, the Arkansas Gazette sponsored it from 1983-1991.

Representing Craighead County are Annie Camp Junior High, Bay Elementary, Bay Junior High, Blessed Sacrament, Brookland Middle, Buffalo Island Elementary, Buffalo Island Junior High, Fox Meadow Intermediate, Jonesboro Health and Wellness, Jonesboro International Studies, Jonesboro Math and Science, Jonesboro Microsociety, Jonesboro Visual and Performing Arts, MacArthur Junior High, Nettleton Middle, Nettleton Junior High, Ridgefield Christian Elementary, Ridgefield Christian Junior High, Riverside East, Riverside West, Riverside Junior High, University Heights Intermediate, Valley View Intermediate, Valley View Junior High, Westside Elementary, Westside Middle and Westside Junior High.