Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

ASU Moot Court team to hold tryouts for 2013-14


JONESBORO, Ark. — Arkansas State University’s highly decorated Moot Court team will hold tryouts for 2013-14, beginning with an information session on Thursday, March 28, in the Delta Center for Economic Development, Room 201, at 6 p.m. At that time, those interested in trying out will learn more about the team by interacting with current members and receiving tryout materials.

Moot court is a simulation of argument before the Supreme Court of the United States. The moot court experience teaches skills valuable to anyone, not simply those interested in attending law school.

“The ASU Moot Court team has qualified teams for national competition in each year of its existence,” said Dr. Hans Hacker, assistant professor of Political Science, Pre-Law Advisor, and co-director of the Pre-Law Center. “In 2009, the team brought home a national championship in the brief writing competition.

“ASU Moot Court team members have argued before federal circuit court judges, federal district court judges, and state Supreme Court justices of Arkansas and Iowa. We are very proud of the team. The team demonstrates the quality of an Arkansas State University education.”

Dr. Hacker notes a moot court competition involves students arguing a hypothetical case before a fictitious Supreme Court composed of attorneys, judges, public officials and/or law school students. It combines training in all the things any lawyer would say are crucial for a career—speaking/advocacy, writing, and research skills. Moot court also allows ASU undergraduates to meet and network with law students, law school professors, career attorneys, and sitting judges from around the country.

The ASU Moot Court team is a competitive squad participating in the Southwestern and South Central Regions of the American Collegiate Moot Court Association that is the organization overseeing national undergraduate moot court competition. The ASU team competes regionally and nationally against other undergraduate teams from universities including the University of North Texas, Baylor University, Cal State-Long Beach, and College of the Holy Cross.

Competitions are usually held at law schools and all competitions are judged by third year law students, professors, practicing attorneys and sitting judges.

For more information, contact Dr. Hans Hacker (hhacker@astate.edu), Mark Lewis (jmlewis@astate.edu), or team captain Eric Fiszer (eric.fiszer@smail.astate.edu).


Gavel & books