Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

Arkansas State Debate Team Continues Dominance


JONESBORO, Ark. — Arkansas State University’s Debate Team continues to dominate the competition by taking victories at the Central Missouri Mule Debate Invitational hosted recently by the University of Central Missouri in Warrensburg, Mo.

A-State remains undefeated in competition this season after two squads toppled talented contenders from a field of 19 universities, including debate giants University of Missouri, Western Kentucky University, Wiley College, and Truman State University.

“This is the second tournament in a row that we have had two undefeated teams taking the final round in a close out victory,” said Dr. Chris Harper, director of the debate team program. “I couldn’t be more proud of the team. You can’t start any better than having two undefeated tournaments against really strong competition.”

The two A-State teams competing for the championship in the final round were Micah Christensen of Cheyenne, Wyo., and Rachel Bjornstead of Powell, Wyo., along with JJ Thompson of Cave Springs and Angel West of Fort Scott, Kan. Based on speaker point allocation, Christensen and Bjornstead brought home the first place trophy.

Benton Bajorek of Jacksonville also brought home the coveted top individual debate speaker award from the tournament.