Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

A-State Theatre to Present ‘Everybody,’ April 16-18, in Online Format


JONESBORO – Arkansas State University Theatre will continue its 2020-21 season with "Everybody" by Branden Jacobs-Jenkins. This modern riff on the 15th-century morality play, “Everyman,” follows “Everybody” as they journey through life's greatest mystery — the meaning of living.

The production is the first collaboration between the Department of Theatre and ASU-TV to produce a broadcasted play.  Students in the creative media production program have been attending rehearsals with theatre students to produce a broadcast-quality performance for audiences.  The collaboration helps fulfill a goal of continuing to broaden students’ educational experience despite limitations brought on by the pandemic.

Performances, to be presented online in a pay-per-view format, will be available Friday through Sunday, April 16-18.

The cast includes Caelon Colbert of Little Rock, Skyla Conger of Haskell, Kori Denison of Batesville, Carson Horton of Batesville, Kylah Hood of Jonesboro, Trey Moore of Mountain Home, and Madison Stewart of Trumann. The cast also includes instructor of theatre, DayDay Robinson, as well as local talent, Allison Wilkes.  

The production is directed by Virginia Hirsch, instructor of theatre. Reilly Heffer of Little Rock is the assistant director. Jeff McLaughlin, assistant professor of theatre, serves as the scenic designer.

Associate professor of theatre, Claire Abernathy, serves as the costume designer. Caisa Sanburg, assistant professor of theatre, is the lighting and sound designer, along with Katelyn Stanton of Trumann as the associate lighting designer, and Clay Bures of Little Rock as the assistant sound designer. Properties master is Alec Lazarini of Memphis.

The stage manager is Claire Thomas of Batesville, and assistant stage managers are Alexander Jones of Russellville and Allison Peavy of Collierville, Tenn.

The light board operator is Gavin Wilson of Berryville, and the sound board operator is Michael Joseph of Poplar Bluff, Mo. Spotlight operators are Christian Armstrong of Russellville and Hayley Murry of Beebe. Dressers are Lukas Lawley of Little Rock and Fernanda Posadas of Sherwood.

The documentarian for the production is Samuel Scott of Flint, Mich., and the publicity manager is Kit Vincent of Poplar Bluff. The house manager is Grace Dial of Paragould.

All students in the cast and crew are theatre majors except for Bures, who is also a chemistry major.

Parents are cautioned “Everybody” contains language that may be upsetting to younger viewers.

Tickets for "Everybody" can be purchased online here or by visiting showtix4u.com and searching for "Arkansas State University Theatre." Prices are $7 for A-State students/staff/faculty and $10 for the general public.

# # #