Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

A-State Student Receives Katherine Franzen Scholarship


JONESBORO — Layne Turner, a plant and soil science major at Arkansas State University, is the recipient of the Katherine Franzen Memorial Scholarship for the spring semester. Each spring, the Franzen family selects an A-State student for the award. Turner is from Gillett. 

Scholarship recipients must be from Arkansas County and a full-time student at Arkansas State majoring in an agriculture-related field. Recipients must maintain a minimum 2.25 grade point average and must exhibit leadership qualities.

The Katherine Franzen privately funded scholarship was established in 1992 by her grandson, Tom W. Franzen, to honor his grandmother who lived in Stuttgart. She was an astute farmer and businesswoman whose generosity was far-reaching. 

The scholarship, which goes to a full-time second semester freshman, was founded to help students advance their education in the agricultural field. Candidates must have a minimum 2.5 grade point average.

Katherine E. Franzen (1914-2001) was a lifelong resident who contributed to a number of causes in the Stuttgart area. She was especially known for presenting anonymous gifts and sought no personal recognition. 

Turner is the son of Jammy and Laura Turner of Gillett.

For more information, contact the A-State Office of Development at (870) 972-3940.


Layne Turner
Layne Turner