Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

A-State Staff Distinguished Performance Awards To Be Presented May 13 during Campus Ceremony


JONESBORO, Ark. — The 21st Annual Distinguished Performance Awards and Service Recognition ceremony for non-faculty employees at Arkansas State University will be held Tuesday, May 13, at 1:30 p.m. in Centennial Hall in the Carl R. Reng Student Union. A dessert reception will follow immediately.

Phillip Ladd, Staff Senate president, will serve as host for the program. University Provost Dr. Lynita Cooksey will present service certificates in recognition of staff members who have completed 10, 20, and 30 years of service at Arkansas State. The Distinguished Performance Awards will be presented by vice chancellors.

The presentation of the Distinguished Performance Awards was initiated in 1994 to recognize outstanding job performance and long-time service by the university’s non-faculty employees, both classified and non-classified.

The award recipients for 2013-14 are:

• Rookie of the Year – Jamie Beck, Honors College
• Team Player – Luis Nopo, Arkansas Biosciences Institute
• Unsung Hero – Tom Wilson, Carl R. Reng Student Union
• Team Achievement (Departmental Award) – Student Union Reservation and Setup Crew
• Extra Mile – Sharon Groves, Finance and Administration
• Outstanding Part-Time – Erica Manley, Continuing Education and Community Outreach

Twenty-two retirees will be recognized for their years of service to the university including:
Dennis R. Ball, Facilities Management (20 years)
Patricia Boling, Finance and Administration (25 years)
Ozie Brown, Sr., Facilities Management (14 years)
Carol Byrd, Student Account Services, (34 years)
Mark Clark, Facilities Management (26 years)
Lynn Cook, Facilities Management (30 years)
Mark Denny, Facilities Management (33 years)
Carolyn S. Edwards, Career Services (18 years)
Michael Gosa, Facilities Management (17 years)
Hester Hall, Facilities Management (37 years)
Janet Hardin, Payroll Services (31 years)
Mary Jane Higgins, Continuing Education and Community Outreach (22 years)
Gary Holder, Facilities Management (27 years)
Peggy C. Hunt, University College (31 years)
Rhonda L. Keith, Facilities Management (14 years)
Willie LaGrone, Jr., Carl R. Reng Student Union (24 years)
Herbert Lawrence, Small Business Development Center (17 years)
Ruth Ann Miles, Facilities Management (20 years)
Melvin Morris, Information and Technology Services (14 years)
David Sprinkle, Facilities Management (19 years)
Randal Wallace, Facilities Management (36 years)
Joyette White, Treasurer’s Office (20 years)

Recognized for 30 years of service are:
Victor Hill, Financial Aid and Scholarships
Justin Alan Holder, Information and Technology Services

Recognized for 20 years of service are:
Michelle L. Brown, Facilities Management
Kyle Cooper, Facilities Management
Donald A. Dunn, Facilities Management
Leigh Anne Hall, Information and Technology Services
Donna A. McMillin, Finance and Administration
Chris Steele, Facilities Management
Joyette White, Treasurer’s Office
Joe Williamson, Information and Technology Services
Robert L. Wrather, Facilities Management

Recognized for 10 years of service are:
Judy Blevins, Instructional Site-Paragould
Cindy Bode, Education and Behavioral Science
Paula Broadway, Facilities Management
Steven Brown, Facilities Management
Janice S. Carter, Childhood Services
Glenda “Kaye” Childs, Facilities Management
Tonya Crittenden, Information and Technology Services
Tia Farmer, Dean B. Ellis Library
Michael Gonzales, Information and Technology Services
Rasheda I. Hamilton, Upward Bound Program
David Hicks, Residence Life
Libby James, Childhood Services
Linda Kellim, Math/Science Institute
Dianna Long, Finance and Administration
Jarrod M. Long, University Police Department
Jacklin McLeod, Residence Life
Joyce Mann, Center For Excellence In Education
Kimberly Marshall, Research and Technology Transfer
Kathy Newberry, Continuing Education and Community Outreach
Traci Tolbert Perrin, Affirmative Action Office
Sandra Petty, Information and Technology Services
Billy G. Reid, Facilities Management
Vickey L. Ring, Admissions, Records and Registration
Beth Silverthorn, Student Affairs
Virginia C. Smith, Childhood Services
Martha Spack, Student Development and Leadership
Mary Wright, Chemistry and Physics
Virginia Yates, Military Science and Leadership