Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

A-State Schedules Fall Graduation Ceremony for December 14


JONESBORO – More than 1,500 graduates will receive diplomas from Chancellor Kelly Damphousse during Arkansas State University’s 2019 fall commencement ceremony, Saturday, Dec. 14. The event begins at 10 a.m. in the First National Bank Arena on campus. 

Graduates from seven colleges including Agriculture, Neil Griffin College of Business, Education and Behavioral Science, Engineering and Computer Science, Liberal Arts and Communication, Nursing and Health Professions, and Sciences and Mathematics, along with Undergraduate Studies, will receive doctorate, specialist, master, bachelor and associate degrees.  

Dr. Cherisse Jones-Branch, the James and Wanda Lee Vaughn Professor of History, will address the gathering on behalf of the A-State faculty. She is the winner of the Faculty Achievement Award for Professional Service for 2019.

Speaking on behalf of the graduating students is Sierra Cottrell from Grapevine. Cottrell is graduating Summa Cum Laude with a Bachelor of Science in Education degree. She is a four-time member of the Chancellor’s List.

Arkansas State’s commencement ceremony will be streamed live at AState.edu/livestream.

Following the commencement ceremony, there is a reception for all graduates and families at the north mezzanine.

Because of soggy ground on the grass areas south of Fowler Center and adjacent to Tomlinson Stadium and Kell Field, and the grass area south of Aggie Road, parking will not be allowed in these areas for Commencement.  To accommodate overflow, parking will be allowed at North Park Quads, Honors, and Red Wolf Den Apartments, in addition to the normal paved parking lots surrounding First National Bank Arena.

# # #