Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

46th Annual Convocation of Scholars Features Student and Faculty Achievements


JONESBORO – The 46th annual Convocation of Scholars at Arkansas State University will highlight events recognizing outstanding students and faculty. This month-long celebration calls attention to those achievements.  
The series includes the presentation of the R.E. Lee Wilson Citizenship Award and the Distinguished Service Awards (DSA) on Thursday evening, April 25. The Wilson Award and DSAs are A-State's top awards for graduating students. While recipients and immediate families will gather for the event at Cooper Alumni Center, attendance is by invitation.  
The 13th annual Create@State: A Symposium of Research, Scholarship and Creativity, involves many students in scholarly and artistic presentations Wednesday and Thursday, April 17-18, on the third floor of Reng Student Union. The awards ceremony follows the conclusion of the competition at 6:30 p.m. More details are available on the Create@State website.  
Faculty Honors Convocation will be held on Tuesday, April 9, at 2 p.m., in the Grand Hall of Fowler Center.  
At this ceremony, the recipient of the Chancellor’s Medal for Research and Creative Activities, and the inaugural recipient of the Provost’s Medal for Excellence in Instruction, will be announced. These medals are the highest awards given to faculty members, and recipients will wear them during Spring Commencement on Saturday, May 4.
The Excellence in Diversity Awards ceremony will be held at noon on Tuesday, April 23, conducted by the Office of Diversity and Community Engagement. The awards recognize the outstanding work of campus stakeholders who have demonstrated the highest commitment to enhancing excellence through diversity.  
The guest speaker will be Dr. Yvette Murphy-Erby, professor of social work at the University of Arkansas. Erby has served in numerous administrative roles including director of the School of Social Work, associate dean for the Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences, as well as vice chancellor for the Diversity, Equity and Inclusion. 

The 29th annual Delta Symposium, with a theme of “Talking about the Weather,” will be held on Thursday through Saturday, April 4-6.  
The full conference schedule is online. The Department of English, Philosophy and World Languages sponsors the symposium, with support from KASU, A-State's public broadcasting service, for the Arkansas Roots Music Festival on the final day.  
Academic units that have scheduled events are: 

-- Department of Music Honors Recital, Monday, April 1, at 7:30 p.m. 

-- College of Engineering and Computer Science awards, Tuesday, April 2, at 6 p.m.  

-- College of Agriculture awards, Wednesday, April 3, at 5 p.m.  

-- Department of Sociology and Criminology awards ceremony, Friday, April 5, at 6 p.m. 
-- College of Liberal Arts and Communication awards ceremony, Monday, April 8, at 5 p.m.  
-- University College awards, Wednesday, April 10, at 2 p.m. 
-- Department of Communication student awards ceremony, Thursday, April 11, at 6 p.m. 
-- College of Education and Behavioral Science awards banquet, Monday, April 15, at 6 p.m.  
-- The Neil Griffin College of Business honors banquet, Monday, April 22, at 6:30 p.m.  
-- Beck College of Sciences and Mathematics, April 23, 5:30 p.m.  
-- Awards for Clinical Lab Sciences and Health Studies, Friday, April 26, at 6 p.m.  
-- Honors College recognition ceremony and reception, Friday, May 3, at 4 p.m.