Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

39th Annual Regional Math Contest Winners Announced


JONESBORO – Arkansas State University’s Mathematics and Statistics Department along with the Arkansas Council of Teachers of Mathematics hosted the 39th annual Northeast Arkansas Regional Math Contest.

Sixteen schools throughout the region were represented by 174 students.  Students enrolled in any one of the following courses – Algebra I, Geometry, Algebra II, Trig/Pre-Calculus, Calculus, or Statistics – competed for top honors.

Those who placed first, second or third have been invited to participate in the State Math Contest April 22 in Conway where students will compete for scholarships of up to $600. Honorable mentions went to students that lost out on placing first, second, or third, by a tie-breaker question.

The regional winners were:

Algebra I

First Place: Jacob Holmes – Rector High School
Second Place: Hyunseo Seok – Valley View Junior High School
Third Place: Sameer Mittal – KIPP Blytheville Collegiate High School


First Place: Kayla Wilcox – Nettleton High School
Second Place: Riya Mittal – KIPP Blytheville Collegiate High School
Third Place: Matthew Sherman – MacArthur Junior High School
Honorable Mention: Levi McGrew – Nettleton High School 

Algebra II

First Place: Fiona Fu – Jonesboro High School
Second Place: Maggie Xu – Jonesboro High School
Third Place: Susan Abshier – Jonesboro High School


First Place: Minjeong Seok – Arkansas School of Math, Science and Arts
Second Place: Charles Schlesinger – Jonesboro High School
Third Place: Trevor Paulsen – Harrisburg High School and Quinn Thomas – Jonesboro High School


First Place: Olivia Langner – Brookland High School
Second Place: Jason Waddell Jr. – Paragould High School
Third Place: Jared Barham – Paragould High School


First Place: Aly Nichols – Nettleton High School
Second Place: Amelia Singh – Nettleton High School
Third Place: Paige McCord – Nettleton High School

# # #