Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

13th Annual Delta Awards for Tourism Achievement in Eastern Arkansas to be Presented Friday, Feb. 1


JONESBORO -- The 13th annual Delta Awards recognizing tourism achievement in Eastern Arkansas will be presented during festivities Friday evening, Feb. 1, at the Fine Arts Building of Phillips Community College of the University of Arkansas, 1000 Campus Drive, in Helena.

After a silent auction at 5:30 p.m., the dinner and awards ceremony will begin at 7 p.m.

The event is sponsored by Arkansas Delta Byways, with support from Phillips Community College, the Delta Cultural Center, the Phillips County Chamber of Commerce and the Helena Advertising and Promotion Commission.

Arkansas Delta Byways, based on the Arkansas State University campus, is a nonprofit organization recognized by the Arkansas Department of Parks and Tourism as the official tourism promotion association for 15 counties in Eastern Arkansas. Counties include Arkansas, Chicot, Clay, Craighead, Crittenden, Cross, Desha, Drew, Greene, Lee, Mississippi, Monroe, Phillips, Poinsett and St. Francis.

The annual awards event is open to the public. Tickets are $25 per person or a table of eight for $175. For information on ticket availability, contact Arkansas Delta Byways, (870) 972-2803, fax (870) 972-3201, or e-mail: ardeltab@astate.edu.

Finalists for the awards are:

Media Support Award:

ASU Creative Services, All Counties

Mark Spencer, Monticello

“Sunshine” Sonny Payne, Helena

Hospitality Award:

Cajun Express, Wheatley

Edwardian Inn, Helena

Whitton Farms, Whitton

Entrepreneur Award:

Handworks, Helena

Jones Bar-B-Q Diner, Marianna

Main Street Paragould, Paragould

Tourism Support Award:

AR Midland Railroad Santa Train, Drew, Desha and Chicot Counties

150th Birthday Celebration of Cross County, Wynne

Southland Park Gaming & Racing, West Memphis

Festival/Event of the Year:

80th Birthday Tribute to Johnny Cash, Dyess

Tyronza Stars & Stripes Jubilee, Tyronza

Zombie Walk, Paragould

Boot Strap Award:

Granny Clay’s Kitchen, Marked Tree

Helena Second Saturdays, Helena

Scarecrow Contest, Marion

Promotional Award:

Hemingway-Pfeiffer Educational Center African Safari Exhibit, Piggott

Historic District Steamboat Partnership, Helena

Main Street Dumas National Historic District, Dumas

Outstanding Member Award:


Cultural Heritage Award:

Arkansas Post Museum State Park, Exhibit Buildings, Gillette

Bridging the Blues, Helena

Lakeport Plantation Exhibits, Lake Village

Tourism Person of the Year:

Joe St. Columbia, Helena

Troy Keeping, West Memphis

Cindy Smith, McGehee

# # #

Arkansas Delta Byways logo