Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

12th Annual Delta Awards for Tourism Achievement presented Feb. 17 in Jonesboro


The 12th annual Delta Awards recognizing tourism achievements in Eastern Arkansas were presented during festivities Friday evening, February 17, at Arkansas State University’s Cooper Alumni Center, 2600 Alumni Boulevard, Jonesboro.

The event was sponsored by Arkansas Delta Byways, the nonprofit association recognized by the Arkansas Department of Parks and Tourism as the official tourism promotion association for 15 counties in eastern Arkansas.  Counties include Arkansas, Chicot, Clay, Craighead, Crittenden, Cross, Desha, Drew, Greene, Lee, Mississippi, Monroe, Phillips, Poinsett and St. Francis. The awards program was also presented with support from the Greater Jonesboro Chamber of Commerce and the Jonesboro Advertising and Promotion Commission.

Arkansas Delta Byways is located on the Arkansas State University campus in Jonesboro and receives administrative support through Arkansas State University’s Arkansas Heritage Sites Office.

For more information, contact Arkansas Delta Byways—phone:  (870) 972-2803, fax: (870) 972-3200; or e-mail Paula Miles.

Finalists for the awards were as follows, with the winner designated by an asterisk:

1.       Media Support Award                       
Cross County Historical Society, Wynne
Dumas Clarion, Dumas
*SEA Life Magazine, Arkansas, Desha, Drew and Chicot Counties

 2.       Hospitality Award                             
Gene’s BBQ, Brinkley
*Osceola-SMC Chamber of Commerce, Osceola
Woody’s BBQ, Waldenburg

3.         Entrepreneur Award
Annette’s Antiques and Treasures, Stuttgart
The Marketplace, Monticello
*Quapaw Canoe Company, Helena   

4.         Tourism Support Award                    
*Miller’s Mud Mill, Dumas
Paragould Community Center, Paragould
Southern Bancorp, Helena

5.         Festival/Event of the Year 
*Arkansas River Revival Flotilla, Chicot and Desha Counties
Dermott Crawfish Festival, Dermott
Johnny Cash Music Festival, Jonesboro and Dyess

6.         Boot Strap Award                            
ASU Museum, Jonesboro
*Delta Gateway Museum, Blytheville
Scarecrow Festival and Contest, Marion

7.         Promotional Award               
Corning Harvest Festival, Corning
*Gladlands, Lee and St. Francis Counties
Midsouth Marathon, Wynne

8.         Outstanding Member Award
Pat Audirsch, Marianna
Sara Beth Christian, West Memphis
*Paula Miles, All Counties

9.         Cultural Heritage Award                  
Desha County Museum, Dumas
Museum of the Arkansas Grand Prairie, Stuttgart
*Parker Pioneer Homestead, Whitehall        

10.       Tourism Person of the Year Award   
Lisa O’Neal, Marion
Ann McClendon, Marianna
*Kim Williams, All Counties