Welcome to Arkansas State University!

Faculty Research Awards Committee

The Faculty Research Awards Committee proposes criteria and procedures for awarding university sponsored research grants, reviews and recommends the awarding of university sponsored research grants, and reviews compensated leave requests and makes recommendations as to which should be awarded. Additionally, the committee reviews applications and selects recipients of the Nathan Deutsch and Eleanor Lane Grants.

Membership consists of one faculty member from each college appointed by the Faculty Senate (appointments should be faculty members knowledgeable about research issues and concerns), and one representative appointed by the Chairs Council. The Associate Vice Chancellor for Research and Technology Transfer will serve as an ex-officio, nonvoting member.

The committee reports to the Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs and Research.


  • Brett Savary
  • Shane Hunt
  • Gabriel Tate
  • Jessica Curtis
  • Ashraf El Sayed
  • Bruce Faske
  • Justin Castro
  • Bilinda Norman
  • Jeongho Ahn
  • William Burns
  • Tom Risch