Welcome to Arkansas State University!


The Office of Assessment would like to financially support Investigations of Student Learning. The Program Assessment Committee (PAC), Grant Committee has developed the guidelines stated below.

The PAC will be responsible for selecting the awardees.

Criteria for award: 

  • Must have support, by signature acknowledgement, from Dean and Department Chair
  • Applicant must be an employee of A-State and directly involved with student learning and its assessment. All ranks of professors may apply: adjunct, instructor, and assistant, associate, full professor. Additionally staff in the data centers, student support, academic support, and/or research may apply.
  • Must identify in application the following:
    • Itemized budget
    • Purpose of assessment investigation
    • Identified link/connection to university, program, and/or General Education outcome/s and explain how the investigation will address student learning at A-State
    • Investigation methodology (if applicable)
    • Intended audience identified (i.e. program faculty, conference presentation, journal submission); if external audience is the intent, proper IRB approval documents must be included
    • Timeline for investigation

Deadlines and Amount of Awards:

  • Fall deadline: October 5, 2021
  • Spring deadline: January 28, 2022
  • Award up to approximately $1,000/assessment investigation 
  • If your proposal is not funded in the fall, you are encouraged to apply in the spring.

Post-award accountability:

  • Money must be spent by June 10 to allow for budget transfers and/or requisition approvals; requests for carry forwards can be made but no guarantee they will be approved
  • Investigation must be presented at Learn@stAte even if it is ongoing
  • One-page summary of results due by last business day in June
  • 20% of award will be withheld until all items above are met. 

Grant Limitations:

  • All grant applications will be considered but first-time investigations will be given priority
  • If food is involved, all food must be catered on campus by Sodexo
  • Learning investigations that involves standardized exams, such as the Critical Thinking Assessment Test or ETS Major Field Exams, will be funded one time

Grant Application:

  • Click here to get the application:  Assessment Mini Grant Application
  • Please complete the application and print for signatures.  You may scan and send to Kevin Hennings at khennings@astate.edu, or mail/walk the completed application over to the Assessment offices located on the sixth floor of the Library in rooms 607, 609, or 610.

Previous Awardees

Grant Awardees 2019-2020

  • Dr. Michael Bowman, Dr. Mary Jackson Pitts, Liberal Arts and Communication
  • Dr. Elizabeth Chamberlain, Liberal Arts and Communications
  • Dr. Than Boves, Dr. Martin Huss, Sciences and Mathematics
  • Dr. Rebekah Cole, Education and Behavioral Science

Grant Awardees 2018-2019

  • Dr. Nicole Covey, Randy Young, Education and Behavioral Science
  • Dr. Michael Bowman, Dr. Mary Jackson Pitts, Liberal Arts and Communication
  • Dr. Susan Whiteland, Dr. Katherine Baker, Liberal Arts and Communication
  • Robert Robinette, Library
  • Tiffany Johnson, Career Services
  • Dr. Zahid Hossain, Engineering and Computer Science
  • Dr. JoAnna Cupp, Nursing and Health Professions
  • Kelli Listenbee, Transition Studies
  • Dr. Karen Yanowitz, Dr. Katerina Hill, Chad Whatley, Education and Behavioral Science, College of Business, Undergraduate Studies
  • Dr. Ronald Johnson, Sciences and Mathematics
  • Kerri Bennett, Barbara Doyle, Liberal Arts and Communications, Undergraduate Studies
  • Dr. Evette Allen, Shanita Hicks, Multicultural Center

Grant Awardees 2017-2018

  • Emily Devereux, Research and Technology Transfer
  • Dr. Zahid Hossain, College of Engineering
  • Dr. Woods, Dr. Davis, Dr. Graham, Dr. Singleton, College of Education and Behavioral Science
  • Dr. Dixie Keyes, Dr. Nicole Covey, College of Education and Behavioral Science
  • Dr. David Harding, College of Liberal Arts and Communication
  • Barbara Doyle, Kerri Bennett, Concurrent Programs
  • Dr. Joe Nichols, Dr. Annette Hux, College of Education and Behavioral Science
  • TommyShawn Long, Dawn Archibold, Global Initiatives
  • Dr. Michael Bowman, Dr. Mary Jackson Pitts, College of Liberal Arts and Communication
  • Dr. Latoya Green, College of Nursing and Health Professions
  • Dr. Natalie Johnson-Leslie, College of Education and Behavioral Science
  • Evette Allen, Multicultural Center

Grant Awardees 2016-2017

  • Kristi Costello, College of Liberal Arts and Communication
  • Michael Bowman, College of Liberal Arts and Communication
  • Joseph Rukus, College of Liberal Arts and Communication
  • Sarah Scott, College of Liberal Arts and Communication
  • Dr. Melodie Philhours, College of Business
  • Dr. LaToya Green, College of Nursing & Health Professions