Welcome to Arkansas State University!
+ Campus notification: No Threat on Campus

There was no gunman on campus.

Statement from Arkansas State University:

Numerous first responders from the University Police Department, Jonesboro Police Department, Craighead County Sheriff’s Office, Arkansas State Police and other law enforcement agencies worked swiftly and cooperatively this afternoon in response to what eventually turned out to be a false alarm on the campus.

Apparently students were filming a video project near the Union, and costumed actors were reported by other students to 911 as possible campus intruders. These students have been located and interviewed by University Police Officers. As a result, it has been confirmed that there was no gunman on campus.

The university immediately put a lockdown in place while the Union and surrounding areas were searched and cleared. The university’s text and email alert system was used to notify students about the situation.

Chancellor Tim Hudson, Vice Chancellor Rick Stripling, and other representatives of the university administration also responded to campus to assist in the crisis response. The university response plan worked perfectly as designed.

No injuries were reported, and normal campus operations have resumed.

The University Police Department will continue to closely monitor the campus this evening as a precautionary measure.

Chancellor Hudson expressed the university’s appreciation to all law enforcement personnel who responded so quickly to the perceived threat.

More Information
University Communications

Emergency Contact
University Police

Social Media
Facebook Twitter
X Close

Economics & Finance

Patricia Robertson


Dr. Patricia Robertson

Chair, Economics and Finance

Associate Professor of Business Law

Phone: 870-972-2300

Office: Business, 302


Chris Brown


Dr. Chris Brown

Professor of Economics

Phone: 870-972-3737

Office: Delta Center for Economic Development, 209


Jim Washam


Dr. Jim Washam

Associate Dean of Undergraduate Programs

Associate Professor of Finance

Phone: 870-972-3960

Office: Business, 101B


Jerry Crawford


Dr. Jerry Crawford

Professor of Economics

Phone: 870-972-3738

Office: Business, 407


Gauri Guha


Dr. Gauri Guha

Associate Professor of Economics

Phone: 870-680-8465

Office: Business, 107B


Xiankui Hu


Dr. Xiankui Hu

Associate Professor of Finance

Phone: 870-972-2470

Office: Business, 309


Matthew Hill


Dr. Matthew Hill

Assistant Professor of Finance

Phone: 870-680-8046

Office: College of Business, 101C


David Kern


Dr. David Kern

Associate Professor of Finance

Phone: 870-680-8466

Office: Business, 332


Randy Kesselring


Dr. Randy Kesselring

Professor of Economics

Phone: 870-680-8467

Office: Business, 402D


J. Mark Lewis


Dr. J. Mark Lewis

Senior Lecture in Law

Phone: 870-972-2076

Office: Business, 310


Jeffrey Pittman


Dr. Jeffrey Pittman

Professor of Business Law

Phone: 870-972-2663

Office: Business, 302


Richard Taylor


Dr. Richard Taylor

Professor of Finance

Phone: 870-680-8081

Office: Business, 424A


Ann Bates


Ann Bates

Administrative Assistant II

Phone: 870-972-2280

Office: Business, 302


Philip Tew


Dr. Philip Tew

Associate Professor of Finance

Director of Economic Education and Financial Literacy

Phone: 870-972-3742

Office: Business, 412