Welcome to Arkansas State University!
+ Campus alert: A-State Closed Jan. 16

A-State Closed on Jan. 16 due to winter precipitation.

Arkansas State University is closed today, Tuesday, Jan. 16, due to winter precipitation. All winter response staff members are requested to report to their duty stations.

Overnight, snow fall made conditions for students, faculty and staff hazardous.

"Our administrative team determined the snowfall was going to be heavier than forecast and while today was scheduled to be the first day of class for the spring 2018 semester, I've decided it is best that we cancel classes for today," Chancellor Kelly Damphousse said.

All classes at the Jonesboro and Paragould locations are cancelled. Online classes continue.

While offices and classes are closed, university residential life areas continue to operate to support the on-campus student population.

Important Updates

  • The American Spiritual Ensemble will perform at Fowler Center's Riceland Hall tonight at 7:30pm.
  • For students living on-campus, Acansa Dining Hall will operate under "brunch hours" with service from 10:30 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. and then 4:30 p.m. to 6:30 p.m.
  • ETS testing candidates that were scheduled for today should contact the Testing Center in the Reng Student Union at 972-2038 when A-State reopens and they will assist with rescheduling.
  • The Red WOLF Center will open today on winter weather hours of noon until 5 p.m.
  • Dean B. Ellis Library is closed all day today.

For updates on A-State events, please check the university’s official website AState.edu or social media feeds, Facebook.com/ArkansasState or @ArkansasState on Twitter.

More Information
University Communications

Emergency Contact
University Police

Social Media
Facebook Twitter
X Close

News Article

Honors College 2016 Graduating Seniors to be Recognized


JONESBORO – The Honors College at Arkansas State University will host the seventh annual Honors Recognition Ceremony and Reception on Friday, May 13, at 5 p.m. in the Cooper Alumni Center, 2600 Alumni Blvd.

One hundred twelve graduating Honors students will be recognized in the company of their parents, families, guests, and university dignitaries.  Graduation distinctions for each student are noted below along with their hometown.

Graduating seniors Emily Peters of Marion and Jarrod Creameans of Judsonia will make remarks on behalf of their Honors peers.

In addition, the Honors Professor of the Year 2016 will be announced.  Honors students nominate professors and vote to select the recipient.

There are three distinctions in graduating from the Honors College -- Graduating in University Honors, Graduating in Honors, and earning the Honors Certificate.

Graduating in University Honors

Those designated ‘Graduating in University Honors’ have successfully defended an Honors senior thesis, completed a minimum of 24 credit hours in Honors coursework, and are graduating with a 3.50 or higher cumulative grade point average. This distinction is recognized on their diplomas and their formal academic transcripts.  These students are also presented with a gold Honors medallion and a certificate in recognition of their accomplishment. 

Those graduating in University Honors are:

Jennifer Adolph of Conway, Pamela Aitkens of Newport, Hayden Cornwell of Lake City, Christopher Elms of Batesville, Daniel Golaway of Bella Vista, Santiago Gonzalez Vargas of Asuncion, Paraguay, Emily Hubbard of Newport, Anna Hudson of Cabot, Najwa Lee of Newport, Jessica Maddox of Carlisle, Emily Peters of Marion, Ashley Pratt of El Dorado, Garrison Rice of Farmington, Jarod Roberts of Searcy, Molly Tibbs of White Hall, Morgan Tripod of Paragould, Jennifer Walker of Maumelle, Kimberly Ward of Paragould, and Meredith Waterworth of Jonesboro.

Graduating in Honors

Students ‘Graduating in Honors’ have completed a minimum of 18 credit hours in Honors coursework and are graduating with a 3.50 or higher cumulative grade point average.  This distinction is recognized on their diplomas and their formal academic transcripts. These students are also presented with a silver Honors medallion and a certificate in recognition of their accomplishment. 

Those graduating in Honors are:

Severiano Brock Acebo of Jonesboro, Hannah Allen of Jonesboro, McKenna Bader of Campbell, Mo., Dylan Bateman of Paragould, Loni Bean of Cabot, Kathleen Blessing of Harrison, Kyle Byrnes  of Cabot, Christina Carl of Jonesboro, Miguel Castillo of Glenwood, Katelynne Chastain of Bismarck, Hayden Chenault of Morrilton, Victoria Childress of Little Rock, Casey Cole of Alma, Lauren Curtis of Dexter, Mo., Cody Davis of Paragould, Holly Dodson of Fort Smith, Ethan Ellis of Conway, Sara Eyler of Poplar Bluff, Mo., Faith Forrest of Hot Springs, Bethany Gallimore of Pearcy, Emily Garrison of Searcy, Casey Goode of Marion, Nicholas Graves of Jonesboro, Ellen Hakenewerth of Jonesboro, Sarah Hamilton of Hot Springs, Kaley Harlson of Harrisburg, Carolina Harper of Jonesboro, Amanda Hatfield of Lee’s Summit, Mo., Jada Hess of Wynne, Allison Hopkins of Conway, Lydia Howard of Blytheville, Valerie Johnston of Timbo, Brooks Jones of Monticello, Paige Lockard of Piggott, Tyler Long of Jonesboro, Brooke Macklin of Cabot, Brian Mason of Jonesboro, Mindi McAlpin of West Memphis, Hannah McClung of Jonesboro, Stephanie Mims of North Chesterfield, Va., Heather Morrisey of Little Rock, Lindsay Mull of Sheridan, Mackensie Nutt of Paragould, Evan Palumbo of Jonesboro, Rachael Palumbo of Jonesboro, Olivia Peek of Pine Bluff, Tyler Porter of Conway, Daisy Reding of Jonesboro, Shelby Rodish of Highland, Jordan Rudelis of Harrison, Sarah Seibert of Cabot, Shane Smith of Walnut Ridge, Faith Suchomelly of Magnolia, Rachael Thompson of Wynne, Aaron Tollett of Nashville, Jordan Turbeville of Benton, Caraline Vaughn of Little Rock, Cameron Waterworth of Jonesboro, Rachel Widmer of North Little Rock, and Kaidee Wilkie of Mountain View.

Students earning the Honors Certificate

Those earning an Honors Certificate have completed a minimum of 18 credit hours in Honors coursework and are graduating with a 3.00 or higher cumulative grade point average. These students are presented with a certificate in recognition of their accomplishment.

Those earning the Honors Certificate are:

Austin Araco of Hot Springs Village, Corey Bevis of Jonesboro, Crist Blackwell of Batesville, Christa Burgess of El Dorado, Ashley Burrows of Little Rock, Shalyn Calaway of Paragould, Shelby Chappell of Dexter, Jarrod Creameans of Judsonia, Sarah Deeds of Jonesboro, Taylor Duvall of Morrilton, Bretton Edmonson of Harrison, Jack England of Rison, Emily Frasure of Calico Rock, Shane Hemme of Gassville, Sierra Karambellas of Ashdown, Christian Kennedy of Royal, Jennifer McDonough of Austin, Jalen McElroy of Mountain Pine, Cassie Phillips of Little Rock, Amber Ray of Little Rock, Marissa Richardson of Jonesboro, Jeffrey Rowlan of Benton, Cameron Sadler of Lake Village, Hailey Skonhovd of Jonesboro, Madison Sprouse of Weiner, Anne Steed of Jonesboro, Jacob Steele of Jonesboro, Charles Tillman of Little Rock, Katelin Turner of Pine Bluff, Jennifer Ulloa of Jonesboro, Tina Urban of Mountain Home, Wesley Watts of Jonesboro, and Kelsey Wynn of Rector.

# # #