Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

Department of Music to Present Second Fall Faculty Recital


JONESBORO – The A-State Department of Music will present the second concert in the 2015-2016 Faculty Recital Series featuring faculty members Don Bowyer, Lauren Schack Clark, Sarah Jones-Hayes, Bruce Faske, Matthew Carey and Marika Kyriakos on Tuesday, Oct. 27, at 7:30 p.m. in Fowler Center’s Riceland Hall, 201 Olympic Drive. The concert is free and open to the public.

The concert will include “Sonata Le Tombeau (The Tomb)” by Pietro Locatelli and arranged by Eugene Ysaye, performed by Dr. Sarah Jones-Hayes, violin, and Dr. Lauren Schack Clark, piano. “Ages for Trombone and Piano” by Susan Mutter will be performed by Dr. Bruce Faske, trombone, and Clark, piano.

“Pronto io son” from the opera Don Pasquale by Gaetano Donizetti, will be sung by Dr. Marika Kyriakos, soprano, and Matthew Carey, baritone.  They will be accompanied by pianist Clark.  In “Pronto io son,” Ernesto wishes to marry Norina, but his crotchety old uncle, Don Pasquale, disapproves of the match because Norina is poor. To punish his nephew, Don Pasquale resolves to take a wife and disinherit him. Doctor Malatesta, a friend of the couple, comes up with a plan to trick Don Pasquale. In this scene, he explains the plan to Norina, who joins in enthusiastically.

Dr. Don Bowyer will be performing an original trombone composition titled “Three Moods” with Clark at the piano.  It includes jazz elements, but is written so that a classical pianist will feel comfortable collaborating with a jazz trombone player. Most of the piece was composed in 2001, although the melody and structure of the second movement are about 10 years older than that.

The second movement, Lost in Regensburg, was composed as a jazz tune in 1991, on a train bound from Vienna to Stockholm, after the composer spent a couple of hours exploring Regensburg, Germany. The composer did not actually get lost, but was ruminating over a lost love who had moved to Regensburg five years earlier.

The first movement, Dearest, was composed in 2001 as a saxophone solo with jazz big band, then transcribed for trombone and piano. The third movement, "A Little Short," was composed in 2001 to complete the set.  Its title comes from the fact that the piece is written with seven beats in a measure, making it feel like a beat is missing.

Fowler Center is at 201 Olympic Dr.  For more details, one may call the Department of Music at (870) 972-2094.

# # #

Fowler Center
Fowler Center