Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

ASU Debate Team excels at Western Kentucky Sweepstakes


JONESBORO, AR – Arkansas State’s debate team dominated the field in its first meet of the season, capturing the Top Debate Team Sweepstakes award recently at Western Kentucky University in Bowling Green, Ky.

J.J. Thompson of Cave Springs captured the top individual speaker award in the parliamentary debate division, while Benton Bajorek of Jacksonville had a strong finish, winning the novice division of the Lincoln Douglas Debate.

The duo of Ken Corbit of Jonesboro and Micah Christensen of Cheyenne, Wyo., recorded 5-0 in the parliamentary debate division during the preliminary rounds. After advancing to the finals, the pair dropped a 2-1 decision to Miami University.

Other notable finishes included the team of Greg Warren of Cabot and Clint Simpson of Searcy, who advanced to the semifinal round of parliamentary debate, and first-year debater Samantha Grooms of Springdale brought home a second place speaker award in novice debate.

Chris Harper, assistant professor of Communication Studies, directs the team.