Welcome to Arkansas State University!
+ Campus alert: A-State Closed Thurs. March 5
+ SHOW

A-State Will be Closed on Thursday, March 5

Arkansas State University will remain closed on Thursday, March 5 due to incoming winter weather. This includes the main campus at Jonesboro and the Paragould center.

For the convenience of students, faculty/staff and the community:
  • The Acansa Dining Hall will operate under inclement weather hours, 10:30 a.m. - 8 p.m.
  • The Red Wolf Center will be open from noon - 5 pm.
  • The Dean B. Ellis Library will decide on their hours after campus conditions are evaluated Thursday morning.
  • GradStock has been rescheduled to March 9, from 9 a.m. until 5:30 p.m. at Cooper Alumni Center.
  • The Testing Center will be closed.
  • Wednesday's performance of "12 Angry Men" has been cancelled. Contact the Box Office for refund information.
  • NEA Science Fair has been postponed to March 16 at Hames Room, Convocation Center.
  • Communications Day (March 7) has been cancelled.
  • The SunBelt basketball match-ups with South Alabama will be played as scheduled.
  • This weekend's baseball matchup with UTA has been moved to Smith-Wills Stadium in Jackson, MS. First game is Saturday, March 7 at 7 p.m. and a doubleheader on Sunday, March 8 at 1 p.m.

The university reminds students to monitor their official Arkansas State student email account for information regarding classes, as explained in an announcement from Provost Lynita Cooksey.

For further updates, watch the A-State website at AState.edu and official social media: Facebook.com/ArkansasState and on Twitter @ArkansasState.

More Information
University Communications
(870) 972-3820

Emergency Contact
University Police
(870) 972-2093

Social Media
Facebook Twitter
X Close

Program of Study

Program of Study (POS)

Do you have a bachelor's degree but not in teaching and want a license to teach?

After completion of a bachelor's degree, a Program of Study (POS) is a plan to attain a license to teach. A program of study is comprised of undergraduate classes and required Praxis exams that prepare you to be a teacher. You may have a POS designed for any of the following areas by the designated individuals.

Early Childhood, Grades P-4

(870) 972-3059
Dr. Joanna Grymes
grymesj@astate.edu

Adult Education

(870) 972-2087
Dr. David Agnew
dagnew@astate.edu

Gifted and Talented

(870) 972-3062
Dr. Julie Milligan
jlamb@astate.edu

Special Education P-4

(870) 972-3062
Dr. Gwendolyn Neal
gneal@astate.edu

Special Education 4-12

(870) 972-3062
Ms. Cindy Nichols
cmnichols@astate.edu

Agriculture

(870) 972-2087
Dr. Kevin Humphrey
jhumphre@astate.edu

Art

(870) 972-3050
Ms. Susan Whiteland
swhiteland@astate.edu

Business

(870) 972-3416
Dr. Ralph Ruby
rruby@astate.edu

English

(870) 972-3043
Dr. Rob Lamm
rlamm@astate.edu

History

(870) 972-3046
Dr. Pam Hronek
phronek@astate.edu

Languages

(870) 972-3887
Dr. Ruth Owens
rsupko@astate.edu

Sciences

(870) 972-3086
Dr. Tillman Kennon
jkennon@astate.edu

Mathematics

(870) 972-3090
Dr. Mike Hall
mhall@csm.astate.edu 

Dr. Debra Ingram
dingram@astate.edu

Music/Instrumental

(870) 972-2094
Dr. Tim Oliver
toliver@astate.edu

Music/Vocal

(870) 972-2094
Dr. Kyle Chandler
kchandler@astate.edu

PE

(870) 972-3066
Dr. Blair Dean
bdean@astate.edu

Dr. Andy Mooneyhan
amooneyh@astate.edu

Reading

(870) 972-3059
Dr. Deb Owen
dowens@astate.edu

After the POS is designed, the applicant, the POS advisor, and the department chair sign the document. The document is forwarded to the Professional Licensure Officer for review and signature. Upon completion of the requirements on the POS, the applicant must contact the licensure officer to initiate the licensure paperwork.

POS Document for students having a bachelor's degree not in the secondary content for licensing.

POS Document for students having a bachelor's degree in the secondary content for licensing.

POS Document for Journalism Program of Study to be used for students having a BSE degree or equivalent in English Education.