Welcome to Arkansas State University!

Program of Study (POS)

Do you have a bachelor's degree but not in teaching and want a license to teach?

After completion of a bachelor's degree, a Program of Study (POS) is a plan to attain a license to teach. A program of study is comprised of undergraduate classes and required Praxis exams that prepare you to be a teacher. You may have a POS designed for any of the following areas by the designated individuals.

Elementary Education, Grades K-6

(870) 972-3059
Dr. Nicole Covey
ncovey@astate.edu

Adult Education

(870) 972-3062
Dr. Joan Henley
jhenley@astate.edu

Gifted and Talented

(870) 972-3062
Dr. Julie Milligan
jlamb@astate.edu

Special Education K-12

(870) 972-3062
Dr. Jacques Singleton (BSE)
jsingleton@astate.edu

(870) 972-3062
Dr. Gwendolyn Neal (MSE)
gneal@astate.edu

Agriculture

(870) 972-2087
Dr. Kevin Humphrey
jhumphre@astate.edu

Art

(870) 972-3050
Ms. Susan Whiteland
swhiteland@astate.edu

Business

(870) 972-3416
Dr. Russ Jones
rjones@astate.edu

English

(870) 972-3043
Dr. Rob Lamm
rlamm@astate.edu

History

(870) 972-3046
Dr. Kellie Buford
kbuford@astate.edu

Languages

(870) 972-3887
Dr. Ruth Owens
rsupko@astate.edu

Sciences

(870) 972-3086
Dr. Tillman Kennon
jkennon@astate.edu

Mathematics

(870) 972-3090
Dr. Amanda Lambertus
alambertus@astate.edu

Music/Instrumental

(870) 972-2094
Dr. Sarah Labovitz
slabovitz@astate.edu

Music/Vocal

(870) 972-2094

PE

(870) 972-3066
Dr. Blair Dean
bdean@astate.edu

Reading

(870) 972-3059
Dr. Latoshia Woods
ltwoods@astate.edu

After the POS is designed, the applicant, the POS advisor, and the department chair sign the document. The document is forwarded to the Professional Licensure Officer for review and signature. Upon completion of the requirements on the POS, the applicant must contact the licensure officer to initiate the licensure paperwork.

POS Document for students having a bachelor's degree not in the secondary content for licensing.

POS Document for students having a bachelor's degree in the secondary content for licensing.