Welcome to Arkansas State University!
+ Campus alert: A-State Closed Jan. 16

A-State Closed on Jan. 16 due to winter precipitation.

Arkansas State University is closed today, Tuesday, Jan. 16, due to winter precipitation. All winter response staff members are requested to report to their duty stations.

Overnight, snow fall made conditions for students, faculty and staff hazardous.

"Our administrative team determined the snowfall was going to be heavier than forecast and while today was scheduled to be the first day of class for the spring 2018 semester, I've decided it is best that we cancel classes for today," Chancellor Kelly Damphousse said.

All classes at the Jonesboro and Paragould locations are cancelled. Online classes continue.

While offices and classes are closed, university residential life areas continue to operate to support the on-campus student population.

For students living on-campus, Acansa Dining Hall will operate under "brunch hours" with service from 10:30 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. and then 4:30 p.m. to 6:30 p.m.

For updates on A-State events, please check the university’s official website AState.edu or social media feeds, Facebook.com/ArkansasState or @ArkansasState on Twitter.

More Information
University Communications

Emergency Contact
University Police

Social Media
Facebook Twitter
X Close

News Article

Arkansas State Debate Team Continues Dominance


JONESBORO, Ark. — Arkansas State University’s Debate Team continues to dominate the competition by taking victories at the Central Missouri Mule Debate Invitational hosted recently by the University of Central Missouri in Warrensburg, Mo.

A-State remains undefeated in competition this season after two squads toppled talented contenders from a field of 19 universities, including debate giants University of Missouri, Western Kentucky University, Wiley College, and Truman State University.

“This is the second tournament in a row that we have had two undefeated teams taking the final round in a close out victory,” said Dr. Chris Harper, director of the debate team program. “I couldn’t be more proud of the team. You can’t start any better than having two undefeated tournaments against really strong competition.”

The two A-State teams competing for the championship in the final round were Micah Christensen of Cheyenne, Wyo., and Rachel Bjornstead of Powell, Wyo., along with JJ Thompson of Cave Springs and Angel West of Fort Scott, Kan. Based on speaker point allocation, Christensen and Bjornstead brought home the first place trophy.

Benton Bajorek of Jacksonville also brought home the coveted top individual debate speaker award from the tournament.