Welcome to Arkansas State University!
+ Campus alert: A-State Closed Thurs. March 5

A-State Will be Closed on Thursday, March 5

Arkansas State University will remain closed on Thursday, March 5 due to incoming winter weather. This includes the main campus at Jonesboro and the Paragould center.

For the convenience of students, faculty/staff and the community:
  • The Acansa Dining Hall will operate under inclement weather hours, 10:30 a.m. - 8 p.m.
  • The Red Wolf Center will be open from noon - 5 pm.
  • The Dean B. Ellis Library will be closed on Thursday.
  • GradStock has been rescheduled to March 9, from 9 a.m. until 5:30 p.m. at Cooper Alumni Center.
  • The Testing Center will be closed.
  • Wednesday's performance of "12 Angry Men" has been cancelled. Contact the Box Office for refund information.
  • NEA Science Fair has been postponed to March 16 at Hames Room, Convocation Center.
  • Communications Day (March 7) has been cancelled.
  • The SunBelt basketball match-ups with South Alabama will be played as scheduled.
  • This weekend's baseball matchup with UTA has been moved to Smith-Wills Stadium in Jackson, MS. First game is Saturday, March 7 at 7 p.m. and a doubleheader on Sunday, March 8 at 1 p.m.

The university reminds students to monitor their official Arkansas State student email account for information regarding classes, as explained in an announcement from Provost Lynita Cooksey.

For further updates, watch the A-State website at AState.edu and official social media: Facebook.com/ArkansasState and on Twitter @ArkansasState.

More Information
University Communications
(870) 972-3820

Emergency Contact
University Police
(870) 972-2093

Social Media
Facebook Twitter
X Close

Arkansas State University Alumni Association Elects New Officers and Board Members


JONESBORO – The Arkansas State University Alumni Association elected new officers and board members at its annual meeting held Saturday, Aug. 31, at the Cooper Alumni Center.

"After serving on the ASU Alumni Association board for several years, I am excited to be stepping up to the office of president,” said incoming president Rich Carvell Jr. of Bentonville. “In following past presidents such as Gary Pugh, Paul Rowton, and Charlotte Razer, I have some big shoes to fill. However, with the support of the current board and Beth Smith and the outstanding staff of the Association, I know that we will continue to be successful. The last few years have seen incredible change for Arkansas State University and the ASU Alumni Association and the future for both institutions is bright."

Officers (two-year terms):

Assuming office as president is Rich Carvell Jr., BS-Business ’91, from Bentonville. Serving as vice president is Dr. Charisse Childers, BS-Marketing ’88, MSE-Business Education ’91, SCCT Community College Teaching ’01, from Little Rock. The new secretary/treasurer is Margo AufderHeide, BS-Marketing ’76, from De Witt. Charlotte Razer, ’86, Blytheville, becomes the past president.

Board Members (three-year terms):

Elected from the First Congressional District are: Rusty Chambers, BS-Marketing ’89, and Lynn Howerton, BS-Social Work ’90, from Jonesboro, as well as Mike Williams, BS-Agricultural Business ’92, from Paragould.

Brandon Morris, BS-Journalism ’08, from Pine Bluff, represents the Second Congressional District.

Representing the state of Missouri is Bob McCuiston, BS-Physical Education ’65, MSE–Physical Education’68, from Kennett, Mo.

The Arkansas State University Alumni Association, which was founded in 1924, is governed by a volunteer board that meets three times per year. For more information on becoming a member of the Association, visit www.astatealumni.org.

# # #

Charlotte Razer and Rich Carvell Jr.
Charlotte Razer and Rich Carvell Jr.