Welcome to Arkansas State University!
+ Campus alert: A-State Closed Jan. 16

A-State Closed on Jan. 16 due to winter precipitation.

Arkansas State University is closed today, Tuesday, Jan. 16, due to winter precipitation. All winter response staff members are requested to report to their duty stations.

Overnight, snow fall made conditions for students, faculty and staff hazardous.

"Our administrative team determined the snowfall was going to be heavier than forecast and while today was scheduled to be the first day of class for the spring 2018 semester, I've decided it is best that we cancel classes for today," Chancellor Kelly Damphousse said.

All classes at the Jonesboro and Paragould locations are cancelled. Online classes continue.

While offices and classes are closed, university residential life areas continue to operate to support the on-campus student population.

Important Updates

  • The American Spiritual Ensemble will perform at Fowler Center's Riceland Hall tonight at 7:30pm.
  • For students living on-campus, Acansa Dining Hall will operate under "brunch hours" with service from 10:30 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. and then 4:30 p.m. to 6:30 p.m.
  • ETS testing candidates that were scheduled for today should contact the Testing Center in the Reng Student Union at 972-2038 when A-State reopens and they will assist with rescheduling.
  • The Red WOLF Center will open today on winter weather hours of noon until 5 p.m.
  • Dean B. Ellis Library is closed all day today.

For updates on A-State events, please check the university’s official website AState.edu or social media feeds, Facebook.com/ArkansasState or @ArkansasState on Twitter.

More Information
University Communications

Emergency Contact
University Police

Social Media
Facebook Twitter
X Close

Arkansas State graduate named Little Rock School District Top Teacher of 2013


JONESBORO, Ark. — Holly Browning Brown, a 1995 graduate of Arkansas State, has received the Marian G. Lacey Award as the Top Teacher of 2013 in the Little Rock School District (LRSD). The announcement came during Teacher Appreciation Week with its annual Crystal Awards ceremony at the Embassy Suites in Little Rock.

Brown is a third grade teacher at Terry Elementary School. The award is named after Dr. Marian Lacey, a long time LRSD educator and principal. She won a crystal trophy, a DELL Latitude 10 Tablet, and $1,000. Elementary, middle and high school level winners received $500 and a crystal trophy. 

"I am extremely honored and humbled to be named the LRSD teacher of the year,” said Brown. “What a privilege it is to be recognized for doing something that you love to do!  Teaching is such a rewarding career because I have the opportunity to make a difference in a child's life everyday.  

“The education I received at Arkansas State was second to none.  I was so fortunate to have exemplary professors who invested in me during my college career.  I appreciate them challenging me, motivating me, and supporting me throughout my academic endeavors." 

A 1990 graduate of Jonesboro High School, she received her Bachelor of Science in Education at Arkansas State and completed her Masters in Early Childhood Education in 1997 from ASU. 

Brown will represent the Little Rock district at the state level in the Arkansas Teacher of the Year competition. The district honors outstanding educators with the Crystal Awards Ceremony. In order for eligibility, teachers are nominated by their peers and reviewed by a selection committee. The committee selects one outstanding teacher from each elementary school, two from each middle school and three from each high school. The level winners and the overall winner are selected from these groups.

Winners on the LRSD elementary, middle school and high school levels are Mary Anne Struthers of Williams Magnet Elementary; Kasey Miller Neal of Mann Magnet Middle School; and Ryan Parson of Parkview Magnet High School.

Holly Brown

Holly Brown, Little Rock School District Top Teacher of 2013

(Photo courtesy of William Feingold)