Welcome to Arkansas State University!
+ Campus alert: A-State Closed Thurs. March 5

A-State Will be Closed on Thursday, March 5

Arkansas State University will remain closed on Thursday, March 5 due to incoming winter weather. This includes the main campus at Jonesboro and the Paragould center.

For the convenience of students, faculty/staff and the community:
  • The Acansa Dining Hall will operate under inclement weather hours, 10:30 a.m. - 8 p.m.
  • The Red Wolf Center will be open from noon - 5 pm.
  • The Dean B. Ellis Library will be closed on Thursday.
  • GradStock has been rescheduled to March 9, from 9 a.m. until 5:30 p.m. at Cooper Alumni Center.
  • The Testing Center will be closed.
  • Wednesday's performance of "12 Angry Men" has been cancelled. Contact the Box Office for refund information.
  • NEA Science Fair has been postponed to March 16 at Hames Room, Convocation Center.
  • Communications Day (March 7) has been cancelled.
  • The SunBelt basketball match-ups with South Alabama will be played as scheduled.
  • This weekend's baseball matchup with UTA has been moved to Smith-Wills Stadium in Jackson, MS. First game is Saturday, March 7 at 7 p.m. and a doubleheader on Sunday, March 8 at 1 p.m.

The university reminds students to monitor their official Arkansas State student email account for information regarding classes, as explained in an announcement from Provost Lynita Cooksey.

For further updates, watch the A-State website at AState.edu and official social media: Facebook.com/ArkansasState and on Twitter @ArkansasState.

More Information
University Communications
(870) 972-3820

Emergency Contact
University Police
(870) 972-2093

Social Media
Facebook Twitter
X Close

In addition to university scholarships, CNHP students have the following scholarships available. Additional criteria may apply in order to qualify. Criteria and applications for 2015-2016 will be available outside the Dean's Office or on this web site after January 12, 2015, and should be submitted to the Dean's Office no later than 5:00 p.m. on February 6, 2015.

College Specific Scholarships

NEA Baptist Memorial Hospital Scholarship Endowment

Eligibility Requirements
  • Full-time student admitted to any professional program in CNHP
  • Minimum GPA of 3.0
  • Demonstrates academic achievement
  • Demonstrates financial need
  • Must be a junior or senior level student

Jon A. Linder/Douglas Jon Seitz Scholarship

Eligibility Requirements
  • Single parent who is an Arkansas resident
  • Student must have completed 50 undergraduate semester hours before being considered
  • Must be a full-time student with a minimum 3.0 (3.0/4.0) cumulative grade point average
  • Majoring in an undergraduate degree program of the following: (Listed in priority order): Nursing; Communication Disorders; Health Professions

Elizabeth A. Thomas Health Sciences

Eligibility Requirements
  • Full-time student
  • Minimum 3.0 GPA
  • Undergraduate CNHP student in final year of study
  • Preference given to students who are married and/or have young children at home
  • Financial need is NOT a requirement for this scholarship

Marie Deacon Landon Scholarship

Eligibility Requirements
  • Full-time graduate student working toward a degree in physical therapy, occupational therapy, or speech therapy
  • Demonstrates academic achievement
  • Financial need is not a main criterion but may be considered
  • Satisfactory academic progress towards a degree


Sister Patricia Lee Findley Memorial Scholarship

Eligibility Requirements
  • Full-time BSN junior or senior level student
  • Minimum 3.0 overall GPA
  • Active member of Arkansas State SNA
  • Plans to remain in Northeast Arkansas for at least one year post-graduation
  • Demonstrated financial need is NOT a requirement

Leet Family Scholarship

Eligibility Requirements
  • Strong consideration to minority students (Please voluntarily disclose on your application if you are a minority.)
  • Full-time student pursuing BSN degree.
  • Minimum 3.0 GPA.
  • First preference to Poinsett County students (2nd Crittenden & 3rd, Craighead).
  • Preference will be given to applicant with financial need.

Ray H. Hall & Kathleen Scott Hall Nursing Scholarship

Eligibility Requirements
  • Senior student
  • Minimum 3.0 GPA
  • Demonstrates financial need
  • Within 15 county area of Northeast Arkansas

Bill Penix, Jr. Memorial Scholarship

Eligibility Requirements
  • Full-time student entering or enrolled in Adult Health MSN degree program
  • Preference to students interested in public mental health nursing
  • Demonstrates academic achievement
  • Demonstrates commitment to nursing profession
  • Demonstrates satisfactory progress toward degree
  • Demonstrated financial need is NOT a requirement

Carla Brooks Spears Endowment in Nursing Scholarship

Eligibility Requirements
  • Full-time AASN student on all campuses & degree sites
  • Demonstrates financial need
  • Satisfactory academic progress toward degree
  • Skills and attitudes should demonstrate qualities beneficial to nursing profession

Susan Tolliver Memorial Scholarship

Eligibility Requirements
  • Full-time AASN or BSN student
  • Evidence of academic achievement
  • Demonstrates financial need
  • Preference to students who do not qualify for state-funded Academic Distinction Scholarships

Lillian G. & Homer G. Proctor Nursing Scholarship

Eligibility Requirements
  • The applicant must be an admitted student in either the RN to BSN or BSN nursing program
  • The applicant must be a junior or senior-level student
  • Applicant must be enrolled in the nursing program at Arkansas State University – Mountain Home.

Linnie Wisdom-Maude Wilson Honors Scholarship

Eligibility Requirements
  • Full-time student in BSN program (at least junior standing)
  • Must be Arkansas resident
  • Commitment to career in nursing
  • Outstanding academic achievement
  • Demonstrates financial need

Clopton Clinic Nursing Scholarship

Eligibility Requirements
  • Accepted into the BSN program and at junior status (60 hours).
  • Minimum 3.5 overall GPA.
  • Demonstrated financial need is NOT a requirement

William & Harriet Mildred Smith Memorial Scholarship

Eligibility Requirements
  • Must have completed the sophomore year of the BSN program (rising junior & senior level students)
  • Minimum 3.0 GPA
  • Priority in selection process to a graduate of Brookland High School
  • If no BHS graduate is eligible, a Craighead County High School graduate will be eligible

Bartels Family Endowed Nursing Scholarship

Eligibility Requirements
  • Full-time RN - BSN student
  • Resident of Arkansas
  • Demonstrates financial need
  • Payable annually

Sigma Theta Tau International, Eta Theta Chapter Scholarship

Eligibility Requirements
  • Full-time undergraduate student enrolled in the School of Nursing who is a member of Sigma Theta Tau
  • Students must have an overall GPA of 3.5
  • Student must demonstrate leadership with a commitment to a career in nursing.

Dr. Angie and Fred Schmidt Nursing Scholarship

Eligibility Requirements
  • Full time student.
  • Student must be enrolled in the MSN Program, any option, in good standing.
  • 3.75 cumulative GPA with a minimum of 25 credit hours in MSN Program during the last year of study.
  • MSN Faculty will select finalists during the fall semester and forward to Dr. Angie Schmidt for final approval.  

Emily Sloan Abernathy Kluge Scholarship

Eligibility Requirements
  • Full time student admitted to any professional nursing program.
  • Student must have a 3.0 overall GPA.
  • Student must demonstrate financial need.