Welcome to Arkansas State University!

Shared Governance Oversight Committee

The Shared Governance Oversight Committee (SGOC) manages the shared governance process. It serves as the entry point and the exit point for all shared governance proposals and also serves as the shared governance liaison to the Chancellor. The committee reviews shared governance procedures, insures shared governance committee performance, and responds to possible violations of the shared governance process.

Any committee or constituent that experiences a possible violation of shared governance principles or procedures (but not specific actions, decisions, or recommendations by individual committees in the discharge of their duties) may ask the SGOC to review the issue. The SGOC has 21 calendar days after a direct request is received to make a recommendation in writing to the Chancellor.

The Chancellor shall render a final decision on the recommendation and communicate that decision in writing to the chair of the SGOC with explanation of support, modification, or non-support within 21 calendar days after receipt of the SGOC’s recommendation.

The committee also functions as a committee on committees. Retention of existing committees, discontinuation of existing committees, and recommendations for new shared governance committees or changes in membership or representation are reviewed by the committee. This committee is responsible for the annual review of the shared governance process and for a survey, to be conducted every three years, to assess campus community satisfaction with the shared governance process and present recommendations to the Chancellor.

The SGOC oversees shared governance proposals by establishing the type of review (expedited, full, or extended), assigning tracking numbers, and forwarding the proposal to the appropriate shared governance committee. The determination of expedited, full, and extended review will be made by considering the complexity of the issue, the urgency, and the availability of constituency groups during the summer months or periods when the university is closed for business.

Membership consists of the President of Faculty Senate; President of the Staff Senate; one member of the executive council who possess tenure in an academic department or college, who is selected by the Chancellor, and who will serve in an ex officio non-voting capacity; the Chair of the Academic Deans Council; a Co-Chair of the Chairs Council; four faculty members appointed by the Faculty Senate serving three year staggered terms, at least three of which shall be tenured and one of which shall be the Chair of the Faculty Handbook Committee; four staff members appointed by the Staff Senate serving three year staggered terms, at least one of which shall be a professional non-faculty person ; the President of the Student Government Association; and the President of the Graduate Student Council. Members of the committee may not serve more than six consecutive years without rotating off the committee for at least one year.

The SGOC elects a chair, a vice-chair, and a secretary at the beginning of each academic year. In the event that any officer is unable to serve in that position, a new election for that position will be held. The chair and the vice-chair of the committee may not serve more than two consecutive years in their respective positions without rotating out of the position for at least one year. It is required that at least one faculty member and at least one staff member shall be elected officers of the SGOC each year.

In accordance with the guiding principle of shared governance on a university campus that those with the most direct interest in an issue affecting their constituency group should have the most input regarding that issue, the SGOC will defer to the majority view of the members of that group when reviewing or acting on issues primarily affecting that group in the unlikely event there is disagreement among the committee members on how to handle a particular issue.


Angela Daniels

SGOC Chair, Staff Senate President

Mike McDaniel

Faculty Senate President

Tim Burcham

Chair of the Academic Deans Council

Shivan Haran

Faculty Senate Representative

Joanna Grymes

Faculty Senate Representative

Beverly Boals-Gilbert

Faculty Senate Representative

Greg Phillips

Faculty Senate Representative

Hannah Aldridge

Student Government Association President

Lynita Cooksey

Vice Chancellor and Provost

Summer Deprow

Staff Senate Representative

Matthew Huckaby

Staff Senate Representative

Jon Carvell

Staff Senate Representative

Jon Carvell

Staff Senate Representative

Todd Clark

Staff Senate Representative

Renee Miller

Co-chair of the Chairs Council

Hunter Sadler

Graduate Student Council President