Welcome to Arkansas State University!
+ Campus notification: No Threat on Campus

There was no gunman on campus.

Statement from Arkansas State University:

Numerous first responders from the University Police Department, Jonesboro Police Department, Craighead County Sheriff’s Office, Arkansas State Police and other law enforcement agencies worked swiftly and cooperatively this afternoon in response to what eventually turned out to be a false alarm on the campus.

Apparently students were filming a video project near the Union, and costumed actors were reported by other students to 911 as possible campus intruders. These students have been located and interviewed by University Police Officers. As a result, it has been confirmed that there was no gunman on campus.

The university immediately put a lockdown in place while the Union and surrounding areas were searched and cleared. The university’s text and email alert system was used to notify students about the situation.

Chancellor Tim Hudson, Vice Chancellor Rick Stripling, and other representatives of the university administration also responded to campus to assist in the crisis response. The university response plan worked perfectly as designed.

No injuries were reported, and normal campus operations have resumed.

The University Police Department will continue to closely monitor the campus this evening as a precautionary measure.

Chancellor Hudson expressed the university’s appreciation to all law enforcement personnel who responded so quickly to the perceived threat.

More Information
University Communications

Emergency Contact
University Police

Social Media
Facebook Twitter
X Close

Institutional Biosafety Committee

Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC)

The purpose of the IBC is to ensure adequate containment of potentially hazardous biological agents, to review and monitor potentially hazardous experiments, to inform the public about experimental plans that have a potential to be hazardous and to provide a means of communication among researchers and healthcare providers about potentially protocols.

Membership consists of no fewer than five faculty members who have experience and expertise in recombinant DNA technology, the capability to assess the safety of recombinant DNA research, and to identify any potential risk to public health or the environment.  At least two members who represent the interest of the surrounding community with respect to health and protection of the environment that are not affiliated with the institution will be on the committee. The IBC shall include at least one individual with expertise in plant, plant pathogen, or plant pest containment principles and one scientist with expertise in animal containment principles and one member of the university technical staff familiar with potentially hazardous biological agents.  The Director of Environmental Health shall serve as an ex officio, nonvoting member of the committee. Members are appointed to staggered three-year terms by the Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs and Research. The committee elects a chair at the beginning of each year. The IBC reports to the Vice Provost for Research and Graduate Studies.


Roster List for the Committee Members

Elizabeth Hood

David Gilmore

Travis Marsico

Fabricio Medina-Bolivar

Jennifer Bouldin

Anthony McMickle

Starr Fenner

Kimberly Marshall

Thom Beasley*

Gary Strickland*

* Community Members