Welcome to Arkansas State University!

Arkansas Academy of Science Annual Meeting

The Arkansas Academy of Science 102nd Annual Meeting will be hosted by Arkansas State University, April 6-7, 2018.

AAS Logo.

Registration & Membership are now open! You can register, pay your meeting fees, submit your membership form and fees all in the same cart! Please see the links to the left for registration, membership and abstract submission links.

2018 Newsletter & Meeting Program Details

Tentative Schedule of Events

Friday April 6th

10:00-12:00    Executive Committee Meeting
11:00-5:00      Registration and Payments
12:00–12:30   Judges and Session Chairs                               
 1:00–2:30      Oral Sessions 1
 2:30–3:00      Break -Refreshments
 3:00–4:30      Oral Sessions 2                 
 5:00–6:00      Mixer                    
 6:00–8:00      Banquet and Keynote Address                                                                       

 Saturday April 7th

8:00–9:00       Continental Breakfast                   
8:00–10:00     Registration and Payment          
8:30–10:30     Oral Sessions 3                  
8:30–10:30     Posters   
10.30-12:00   Tour ACBC                                 
10:30-11:30   Meeting of Judges                  
12:00-1:00     Awarding of Prizes                                                       
AAS Business Meeting

 **All members of the Academy are invited and strongly encouraged to participate in the AAS business meeting.**

Accommodations in Jonesboro (Around A-State)

Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Jonesboro will honor the A-State negotiated rate for all the conference attendees. You need to mention Arkansas Academy of Science annual meeting while making reservations for the discounted rate. The negotiated rate for either a King and Double Queen standard rooms is $110/ night and this includes Wifi, parking and breakfast.

Besides this, Jonesboro has many other hotels and motels; most of them are close to Interstate 555 and are not too far from campus. These hotels include Best Western, Comfort Inn and Suites, Day’s Inn, Hampton Inn, Hilton Garden Inn, Holiday Inn Express as well as many others that are members of smaller chains.

Costs and other information about these hotels can be found by contacting them directly.


Closest parking to conference venue will be in the North Parking deck of the Reng Student Union. Conference participants should collect the event parking permit at the registration desk and display it on their vehicles. Visitors may park in designated visitor parking zones or non-reserved spaces / unrestricted commuter parking with an event parking permit. If required, additional parking spaces are available at the Health Science parking lot across the north parking deck. Parking is not permitted in any of the reserved spaces. Parking Services does not allow A-State students, faculty or staff to use event parking permits.

There will be plenty of parking spaces in front of the stadium (venue for banquet), and no permits will be required for the evening event.

Map of the A-State campus

Organizing Committee:

Rajesh Sharma, Chairman, rsharma@astate.edu
Andrew Sustich, Associate Vice Chancellor for Research, sustich@astate.edu
Emily Devereux, Executive Director of Research Development, edevereux@astate.edu
Ross Carroll (Physics), bcarroll@astate.edu
Kwangkook (David) Jeong (Mechanical Engineering), kjeong@astate.edu
Zahid Hossain, (Civil Engineering), mhossain@astate.edu
John Hershberger (Chemistry), jhershberger@astate.edu
Brook Fluker (Biological Sciences), bfluker@astate.edu
Tanja McKay (Biology) tmckay@astate.edu