Having trouble viewing this email?  View it online >> Tuesday, May 2, 2017
Distinguished Performance Award Winners

The Distinguished Performance Awards will be presented to six individuals during the 24th annual recognition ceremony for non-faculty employees Friday at 1:30 p.m. in the Reng Student Union Auditorium. Congratulations to the Distinguished Performance Award recipients for 2016-17:

  • Team Player -- Gerald Adkisson, Facilities Management
  • Unsung Hero -- Dianna Long, Budget Office
  • Enhancing the Student Experience -- Laura Cremeens, Student Affairs
  • Rookie of the Year -- Chad Whatley, Honors College
  • Outstanding Part-Time -- Jennifer Salo, Honors College
  • STAR (Service, Teamwork, Attitude, Reliability) -- Lori Spencer, Arkansas Biosciences Institute

The award nominees are individuals who exemplify professionalism and dedication to excellence in service, and perform above the standard to improve programs at A-State. The Distinguished Performance Awards program was initiated in 1994 to recognize outstanding job performance and long-time service by the university’s non-faculty employees.

Distinguished Performance Award Winners
17 Retiring Employees Recognized for 341 Total Years of Service

Seventeen individuals who have or will retire during the 2016-17 year will be honored Friday during the 24th annual Distinguished Performance Awards and Service Recognition Ceremony in the Reng Student Union.  The 17 have a combined 341 total years of experience.

David Gray, Facilities Management, has the longest period of service, 36 years.  The other retirees and their employment areas are: Karl Ahrent, Agriculture & Technology Studies, 11 years; Kenny Brewer, Convocation Center, 15 years; Thelma Carroll, Facilities Management (FM), 9 years; Tim Dean, Convocation Center, 30 years; Tami Freeman, FM, 24 years; Debbie Honeycutt, Convocation Center/concessions, 24 years; Kathy L. Ingram, Admissions, 16 years; Kathleen Lorance, Medical Imaging-Radiation Sciences, 12 years; Doug Mathis, FM, 35 years; Patty Metz, Financial Aid & Scholarships, 20 years; Diana Monroe, University Communications, 16 years; Sharon D. Rowe, Library, 25 years; Sheila Sartin, Arkansas Biosciences Institute, 14 years; Beth Smith, Alumni Relations, 25 years; Shirley Smith, Information Technology Services (ITS), 12 years; Holly Van Wagener, University Advancement, 17 years;

Staff Members Achieve Service Milestones of 20, 30 and 40 Years

Congratulations to the 17 A-State staff members who have attained service milestones of 20, 30 or 40 years. They will be honored Friday during the Distinguished Performance Awards and Service Recognition ceremony. Two staff members – Gina Bowman in University Communications and Ron Carroll in sports medicine – have achieved 40 years of service. Four individuals with 30 years of service will be recognized: Lesa Carmack, Convocation Center; Tim Dean, Convocation Center; Jan Nelms, Library; June Taylor, KASU.

Eleven individuals have attained 20 years of service: Mary Jo Bohrman, Computer Science; Deborah Davis, Testing Center; Lisa Glasco, Procurement Services; Shane Johnston, ITS; William L. Kraus, Delta Center for Economic Development; Randy Martin, University Police Department; Patty Metz, Financial Aid & Scholarships; Beverley Mixon, Student Affairs; Vic Nelson, Controller’s Office; Keith Nichols, ITS; and Brandie L. Tibbs, English and Philosophy.

43 Staff Members Reach 10-Year Service Milestone

At the Distinguished Performance Awards and Service Recognition Ceremony Friday, 43 A-State staff members will receive certificates for attaining the 10-year service milestone. Those to be recognized are: Dr. Marti L. Allen, Museum; Eddy Arnold, Media; Carole Arrington, FM; Eric N. Boling, FM; Maria Barner, Arkansas Biosciences Institute; Glynna Greene-Brewer, FM; Tracy Robin Buchanan, A-State Online; Lindsay Burnett, Alumni Relations; Jim Carter, Childhood Services; Leeann Castleberry, Financial Aid & Scholarships; Todd Clark, Digital Creative Media; Ina Leora Cohn, Childhood Services; Gwennette L. Confer, Childhood Services; Cassia Craig, Student Affairs; Jason Crittenden, Institutional Effectiveness; Lt. Bobby Duff, University Police Department; Lori Hailey, Nursing.

Others are Christy Harvey, Advancement Services; Matt Huckaby, Red WOLF Center; Sherry Hufstedler, Honors College; Kelsey L. James, Childhood Services; Jason Jernigan, FM; Bradley S. Johnson, FM; Teresa Bailey-Jones, Childhood Services; Diane Lee, Childhood Services; Melissa M. Livingston, Advancement Services; Linda Lord, Childhood Services; Robin Lynn Maxwell, FM; Ricky G. Miller, Management and Marketing; Janet Moore, Budget Office; Belinda Olive, Treasurer’s Office; John R. Royse, ITS; Randy Ryan, FM; Jerry Scott, Sports Information; Michael Sheppard, Library; Cynthia Lee Shimasaki, Childhood Services; Brooke Thomas, Childhood Services; Robin K. Thompson, Nursing; Jerry Todd, FM; Michael (Bunk) Van Winkle, FM; Chrissy Vines, Student Account Services; Justin K. Walker, ITS; and Kimberly D. Winters, Global Initiatives;

Keyes Receives Excellence in Diversity Award Keyes Receives Excellence in Diversity Award

Dr. Dixie Keyes, professor of mid-level education and director of the Arkansas Delta Writing Project, received the 2017 Excellence in Diversity Award for her demonstrated commitment to achieving a more diverse environment on campus. The award was presented during the annual Excellence in Diversity Awards program. Recipients of the award are selected by a committee from among a slate of nominees. Award coverage is online.

Read more news from A-State:  News Home Page  |  Inside A-State Archives

To submit content for Inside A-State, email us at