Having trouble viewing this email?  View it online >> Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Wright Organizes Panel for Delta Symposium XXI Wright Organizes Panel for Delta Symposium XXI

Peggy Wright, instructor in geography and director of Delta Studies, organized and will participate in a panel and discussion on the culture of the Mississippi River and Great River Road for Delta Symposium XXI, which begins today in the Mockingbird Room of the Student Union.  Wright's presentation is titled, "A New Arkansas Delta Civil Rights Movement Geography," which is scheduled for 4:15 Thursday. She is one of several faculty and students participating in the four-day symposium.

Miller Directing STEM Leadership Event for Girls

Dr. Cynthia Miller, director of the Delta STEM Education Center, is project director for the grant-supported STEM (science, technology, engineering and mathematics) Leadership Conference for Girls at A-State Saturday and at East Arkansas Community College on April 25. She and faculty members Dr. Jennifer BouldinDr. Anne GrippoDr. Susan Hanrahan and Leah Walker will make presentations to the conference attendees, who are grade 10 through the college sophomore year.

Miller Directing STEM Leadership Event for Girls
Ideas Invited for Inside A-State

Inside A-State is entering its second year, and there are numerous faculty and staff members who have newsworthy achievements that have not been highlighted. Submit ideas and suggestions for articles to the Marketing and Communications Office,

Labovitz to Serve as Chair for State Music Group Labovitz to Serve as Chair for State Music Group

The president of the Arkansas Music Educators Association (ArkMEA) has appointed Dr. Sarah Labovitz, assistant professor of music and associate director of bands, as the group's collegiate chair.  In this position, she will be working to plan and arrange professional development activities and clinics throughout the school year for music students in the Collegiate National Association for Music Education chapters throughout Arkansas.

Faculty Honors Convocation

Reminder, the annual Faculty Honors Convocation will be Tuesday, April 14, beginning at 2 p.m. in Centennial Hall, Reng Student Union. The Faculty Achievement Awards will be presented, and retirees will be recognized.

Wright is ITTC's First Certified Blackboard Trainer

Scott Wright, course builder and faculty developer in the ITTC Faculty Center, is the center's first certified Blackboard Trainer. The certified trainer program is for professionals who are committed to advancing the best practices of online learning for diverse users. Program participants design curriculum using established instructional design principles that engage learners interactively.  Wright joins the international community of more than 400 Blackboard training professionals who have successfully completed the program.

Wright is ITTC's First Certified Blackboard Trainer
Video Coordinators Group Awards Lambert Video Coordinators Group Awards Lambert

Elizabeth Lambert, video coordinator for the Athletics Department, has been named the Sun Belt Conference's "Video Coordinator of the Year," an award given by the Collegiate Sports Video Association. Recipients are selected based on professionalism by their peers at conference member institutions. During the CSVA meeting in Phoenix, Lambert will be one of 15 individuals representing their respective conferences and vying for the Bob Matey National Video Coordinator of the Year award.

Articles submitted by: Tom Moore
Read more news from A-State:  News Home Page  |  Inside A-State Archives

To submit content for Inside A-State, email us at