Having trouble viewing this email?  View it online >> Tuesday, August 30, 2022
Labovitz is Semifinalist for Grammy Award Labovitz is Semifinalist for Grammy Award

Achievements by Dr. Sarah J. Labovitz, associate professor of music, associate director of bands, coordinator of music education, and department chair, have been recognized by her peers. Labovitz was nominated then selected as a quarterfinalist for the 2023 Grammy Music Educator Award, established to recognize those who have made significant and lasting contributions to the field. Semifinalists will be announced in September. Details are online.

Salo is New President of Faculty Senate

Best wishes to Dr. Ed Salo, associate professor of history, who has assumed his responsibilities as president of the Faculty Senate. Previously he was a senator representing Liberal Arts and Communication, then president-elect the past year. He succeeds Donna Caldwell, associate professor and cardiovascular imaging technology coordinator. The Senate and the Faculty Association now have separate leadership as a result of updates to the groups’ constitution and bylaws.

Salo is New President of Faculty Senate
Knight Elected Faculty Association Chair Knight Elected Faculty Association Chair

Congratulations to Dr. Cheryl Knight, assistant professor of social work and department chair, who was elected chair of the Faculty Association during its annual meeting. She is the first to serve in this role after separation of this group from Faculty Senate. Other officers are Sherry Eskridge, outreach librarian at Ellis Library, vice president; Dr. Cindy Crum, assistant professor of nursing, secretary; and Dr. Joanna Grymes, associate professor of early childhood education, treasurer.

Harris to Serve as VP of State Organization

Deanna Harris, Access and Accommodation Services, has been elected vice president of Ark-AHEAD (Arkansas Association on Higher Education and Disability), an organization of disability services providers. The group provides educational and networking opportunities to professionals who promote access, equity and inclusion for people with disabilities. After a one-year term as vice president, she will advance to president of the organization, serving another one-year term.

Harris to Serve as VP of State Organization
Murry is August PROPS Award Winner Murry is August PROPS Award Winner

Dean Murry, faculty support specialist in the Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning, has been recognized by Staff Senate as the August recipient of the PROPS (Proudly Recognizing Our Pack Staff) Award. His nominator emphasized Murry’s proficiency with the learning management system technology, and the help he offers to faculty members who utilize the system to support student learning and interaction. Award winners are selected from nominations.

Read more news from A-State:  News Home Page  |  Inside A-State Archives

To submit content for Inside A-State, email us at