Having trouble viewing this email?  View it online >> Tuesday, May 15, 2018
2018 Distinguished Performance Award Winners 2018 Distinguished Performance Award Winners

The Distinguished Performance Awards will be presented to six individuals during the 25th annual recognition ceremony for non-faculty employees Friday at 1:30 p.m. in the Reng Student Union Centennial Hall. Congratulations to the Distinguished Performance Award recipients for 2017-18:

  • Team PlayerRobert Bahn, Small Business and Technology Development Center
  • Rookie of the YearJustin Rucker, Media
  • Outstanding Part-Time -- Haillie Russell, Child Development and Research Center
  • Unsung Hero Connie Scott, Facilities Management Custodial/Housekeeping
  • Enhancing the Student ExperienceMary Williams, Beck PRIDE Center
  • STAR (Service, Teamwork, Attitude, Reliability) Jenny Yates, Military Science and Leadership
  • Team Achievement – Pack Pact Campaign Committee

The award nominees are individuals who exemplify professionalism and dedication to excellence in service, and perform above the standard to improve programs at A-State. The Distinguished Performance Awards program was initiated in 1994 to recognize outstanding job performance and long-time service by the university’s non-faculty employees.

38 Retiring Employees Recognized for 873 Total Years of Service

Thirty-eight individuals who have or will retire during the 2017-18 year will be honored Friday during the 25th annual Distinguished Performance Awards and Service Recognition Ceremony.  The 38 have a combined 873 total years of service. 

Three employees – Kathy D. Lambie, Financial Aid and Scholarships, Mary A. Tolley, Facilities Management, and Karen A. Vardell, Information and Technology Services – have each attained the longest period of service, 39 years. 

Those retiring with more than 20 years of service and their employment areas are: Janice Gilbert Smith, registrar, 37 years; Michael Johnson, Farm Administration, 35 years; Robin Kaloghirou, Financial Aid and Scholarships, 35 years; Victor Hill, Financial Aid and Scholarships, 34 years; Lorerinda Budd, Griffin College of Business, 32 years; Jan Nelms, Library Operations, 32 years; Lesa Carmack, First National Bank Arena, 31 years; Jane Ann Craft, Mathematics and Statistics, 31 years; Teresa L. Ryan, First National Bank Arena, 31 years; Robert Lee Hobbs, Facilities Management Zone Maintenance, 29 years; Patti S. Reed, College of Education and Behavioral Science, 29 years; Robert Wrather, Facilities Management Project Services, 25 years; Donald A. Dunn, Facilities Management Project Services, 24 years; Jane Coburn, Disability Serivces, 23 years; Rosemary Freer, Testing Center, 23 years; and Mary Jo Bohrman, Computer Science, 21 years.

Retirees with Up to 20 Years of University Service

Those individuals who are retiring with up to 20 years of service at A-State and their employment areas are: Kathy Hogue, Registrar, 20 years; Janice Morgan, Planning, Design and Construction, 20 years; Randall Tate, Student Union, 20 years; Patricia Runyan, Motor Pool, 19 years; David Maloch, Printing Services, 18 years; Arcadio L. Gil, Printing Services, 17 years; Karen Hancock, School of Teacher Education, 17 years; Linda Keller, Library Operations, 17 years; Sandra Wewers, Treasurer; 17 years; Susan Briner, Advancement Services, 15 years; Sandy Petty, Information and Technology Services, 15 years; Cindy Delece Hinson, School of Teacher Education, 14 years; Rodney Davis, Student Union, 13 years; Cassia Craig, Student Union, 12 years; Gary V. Williams, Information and Technology Services, 12 years; Carole Arrington, Facilities Management Business Services, 11 years; Beth Ballard, Online Operations, 10 years; Anthony C. Passalaqua, Motor Pool, nine years; and Kathleen Ruth, Military Science and Leadership, eight years.

69 Staff Members Achieve Service Milestones of 10, 20, 30 & 40 Years

Congratulations to the 69 A-State staff members who have attained service milestones of 10, 20, 30 or 40 years. In addition to being recognized for their service at the ceremony Friday, they will be listed in next week's edition of Inside A-State.

Read more news from A-State:  News Home Page  |  Inside A-State Archives

To submit content for Inside A-State, email us at