Having trouble viewing this email?  View it online >> Tuesday, April 12, 2016
Faculty Award Winners and Retirees Recognized at Honors Convocation

In the third annual Faculty Honors Convocation edition of Inside A-State, we highlight this year's achievement award winners and 14 individuals who are retiring from the university this year.  The awards recognize outstanding professional achievement in the categories of scholarship, professional service, teaching and advising. In addition to the four recipients, numerous other faculty members were nominated in recognition of their excellent work. The awards presentation is an annual highlight of Convocation of Scholars.

Professional Service Award Goes to Erick Chang

Dr. Erick Chang, associate professor of management, received the Faculty Award for Excellence in Professional Service.  Chang, who is chair of the entrepreneurship committee of the College of Business, organized the A-State business plan competition.  As faculty resident of the Honors Living and Learning Community, he interacts daily with Honors program students. He completed his doctoral degree at Mississippi State and joined A-State's faculty in 2007.

Professional Service Award Goes to Erick Chang
Kwangkook Jeong  Wins Scholarship Award

Dr. Kwangkook (David) Jeong, associate professor of mechanical engineering, is recipient of the Faculty Award for Excellence in Scholarship.  Jeong, who co-authored two peer-reviewed journal articles this year, was cited for including undergraduate engineering students in his research. He received a total of $1.22 million in new research funding this year, all as principal investigator. A faculty member since 2010, he completed his doctoral degree at Lehigh.

Kwangkook Jeong  Wins Scholarship Award
Steven Green Receives Teaching Award Steven Green Receives Teaching Award

Dr. Steven Green, professor of soil and water conservation, received the Faculty Award for Excellence in Teaching.  In the nomination, Green's students said he is always well prepared for class, he returns graded work quickly, and he is very helpful to those who need special assistance.  He constantly challenges students to think for themselves.  A faculty member at A-State since 2006, he completed his doctoral degree at Purdue.

Advising Award Presented to Loretta McGregor Advising Award Presented to Loretta McGregor

Dr. Loretta McGregor, professor of psychology, was recognized as recipient of the Faculty Award for Excellence in Academic Advising.  McGregor was recognized for her work with students.  She requires her advisees to update their plan of action every semester, and she also advises them on graduate school requirements and employment expectations. McGregor, who joined the faculty in 2005, completed her doctoral degree at Wichita State.

14 Retiring Faculty Members Recognized at Honors Convocation

At Faculty Honors Convocation today, deans recognized 14 faculty members who are retiring this academic year.  Each one also received emeritus status. The retirees and their years of service at Arkansas State are:

  • Harriette Adams, Instructor in Physical Education, 20 years
  • Dr. Thomas M. Adams, Professor of Exercise Science, 35 years
  • Dr. Darlene Baker, Assistant Professor of Nursing, 25 years
  • Alexander R. Brown, Instructor in Creative Media Production, 11 years
  • Dr. Robert Engelken, Professor of Electrical Engineering, 33 years
  • Dr. Paul Hickman, Assistant Professor of Art & Visual Resources Librarian, 27 years
  • Dr. Mitchell L. Holifield, Professor of Educational Leadership, 26 years
  • Julie Isaacson, Associate Professor of Nursing, 29 years
  • Dr. Lina Leatherwood Owens, Associate Professor of Teacher Education, 16 years
  • Dr. Angela Stone Schmidt, Associate Dean, Nursing and Health Professions, 28 years
  • Molly Simpson, Professor of Theatre, 28 years
  • Dr. Phyllis Skorga, Professor of Nursing, 17 years
  • Dr. Annette Stacy, Associate Professor of Nursing, 34 years
  • Dr. Jim Stillwell, Professor of Physical Education, 22 years

These individuals deserve our congratulations on retirement and our grateful appreciation for their contributions to A-State's success during their combined 351 years of service on faculty.

Read more news from A-State:  News Home Page  |  Inside A-State Archives

To submit content for Inside A-State, email us at