Having trouble viewing this email?  View it online >> Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Faculty Achievement Awards Presented at Honors Convocation

At the annual Faculty Honors Convocation, four faculty members were recognized as this year's recipients of the Faculty Achievement Awards, which are presented to recognize outstanding professional achievement in the categories of scholarship, professional service, teaching and advising. In addition to these four recipients, numerous other faculty members were nominated in recognition of their excellent work. The awards presentation is an annual highlight of Convocation of Scholars.

Scholarship Award to Cherisse Jones-Branch Scholarship Award to Cherisse Jones-Branch

Dr. Cherisse Jones-Branch, associate professor of history, is recipient of the Faculty Award for Excellence in Scholarship. Her most recent book, which was published by University Press of Florida, received the Letitia Woods Brown Award from the Association of Black Women Historians. She is co-author of Arkansas Women: Their Lives and Times, to be published soon by the University of Georgia Press, and author of a third book that is forthcoming.

Stacey Sloas Commended for Professional Service

Stacey Sloas, assistant professor of physical therapy, received the Faculty Award for Excellence in Professional Service. The award was based on her numerous campus and community activities outside the classroom including volunteer work for Operation Tucker Freedom and Court-Appointed Special Advocates (CASA). Her college and department committees and activities included judging for Create @ STATE and assisting with High School Preview Day and Physical Therapy Association Alumni Day.

Stacey Sloas Commended for Professional Service
Teaching Award Presented to Gauri Guha Teaching Award Presented to Gauri Guha

Dr. Gauri Guha, associate professor of economics, received the Faculty Award for Excellence in Teaching. The departmental nomination noted Guha's effective utilization of new teaching tools and techniques that have been made possible by developments in technology. While implementing new methods, he has kept his focus on enhancing student success through quality, rigorous coursework and maintaining a level of personal involvement with his students.

Lori Fenner is Recipient of Advising Award

Lori Fenner, instructor in agriculture, was recognized as recipient of the Faculty Award for Excellence in Academic Advising. Fenner regularly advises about 200 students and is considered the College of Agriculture and Technology's "go-to resource" on student advising. The nomination said she is more than just an adviser -- she is an "adviser, mentor and encourager." Her efforts have turned around troubled students and helped them graduate and begin productive careers.

Lori Fenner is Recipient of Advising Award
Six Retiring Faculty Members Recognized at Convocation

At the Faculty Honors Convocation today, six faculty members who are retiring this academic year were recognized and named to emeritus status. The retirees and their years of service at Arkansas State are:

  • Dr. William Allen, professor of art, 36 years;

  • Dr. Loretta Brewer, professor of social work, 14 years;

  • Dr. Dianne Lawler, professor of early childhood education, 26 years;

  • Dr. Don Maness, professor of teacher education, 13 years;

  • Robin Payne, librarian, 29 years; and

  • Dr. Nonie Wiggins, associate professor of nursing, 22 years.

These individuals deserve our congratulations on retirement and our grateful appreciation for their contributions to A-State's success during their service on faculty.

Read more news from A-State:  News Home Page  |  Inside A-State Archives

To submit content for Inside A-State, email us at