Having trouble viewing this email?  View it online >> Tuesday, June 17, 2014
Retiring Faculty Members Recognition Video Now Online

A total of 21 retiring faculty members were recognized individually during Convocation of Scholars.  Each person made unique contributions to Arkansas State’s success.  Together, they gave more than 500 years of service to A-State.  The retiree tributes were recorded in their entirety, and they are available now on Arkansas State’s Vimeo page.

Combs Works with Aspiring Journalists at Jshop Combs Works with Aspiring Journalists at Jshop

Sandra Combs, associate professor of multimedia journalism production, was an invited speaker for the opening reception of the National Association of Black Journalists (NABJ) 40th anniversary convention in Minneapolis. She reflected on her annual experiences as a convention participant since 1992. She also served as a faculty member for NABJ's Jshop, a week-long journalism workshop for high school students who aspire to become journalists.

Holloway Receives State Social Work Award Holloway Receives State Social Work Award

The designation “Social Worker of the Year” was awarded to Dr. Brad Holloway, assistant professor of disaster preparedness and emergency management, by the state chapter of the National Association of Social Workers during the group’s conference in North Little Rock.  The chapter cited Holloway’s work in the College of Nursing and Health Professions and his activities in the community on behalf of patients and their families in determining the award.

Ralph E. Powe Faculty Award Goes to Hossain

Congratulations to Dr. Zahid Hossain, recipient of the Ralph E. Powe Junior Faculty Enhancement Award.  Selection was based on a proposed study by Hossain, assistant professor of civil engineering.  He will collect baseline performance data for developing and characterizing new types of paving materials that can be used to build longer-lasting highways in a sustainable manner. The Powe Award provides seed money for research at Oak Ridge Associated Universities, including A-State.

Ralph E. Powe Faculty Award Goes to Hossain
EnvironMentor Student Wins National Award EnvironMentor Student Wins National Award

Dr. Jerry Farris, distinguished professor of zoology and adviser for the A-State chapter of EnvironMentors, brought home good news from the national meeting in Washington, D.C.  Chapter member Tabitha Hudspeth of Nettleton High School won the first place scholarship of $2,000 for presenting the most outstanding project, "The Effects of Oxytetracycline on Daphnia magna." EnvironMentors helps prepare high school students for environmentally related study and careers.

News Content Welcomed for 'Inside A-State'

News and information for Inside A-State is always welcome. Professional presentations, publications, and leadership positions usually make interesting items to share with university colleagues. Forward tips to Prior editions of  Inside A-State are archived here.

Read more news from A-State:  News Home Page  |  Inside A-State Archives

To submit content for Inside A-State, email us at