Having trouble viewing this email?  View it online >> Tuesday, April 15, 2014
Faculty Achievement Awards Presented at 36th Annual Convocation of Scholars Ceremony

Four faculty members at Arkansas State University were recognized during the annual Faculty Honors Convocation, a highlight of the 36th annual Convocation of Scholars, for their exceptional achievements, professionalism and contributions to the university.

“This is a special time in our academic community when we honor and celebrate the academic excellence of our faculty and recognize them for their tireless work with our students,” commented Dr. Lynita Cooksey, provost and vice chancellor for academic affairs.  “We are fortunate at Arkansas State to have so many faculty members worthy of selection, which adds to the prestige of these individual achievements.”

She also expressed appreciation to the university committee that reviews nominations from professional colleagues and makes the final selections for the faculty awards.

“Our success in achieving our highest priority – the education of our next generation of leaders – is linked to the efforts of our faculty,” said Dr. Tim Hudson, chancellor.  “Saluting our outstanding faculty in teaching, advising, scholarship and service rewards those who have gone above and beyond in our core mission of service to our students.”

The award winners are highlighted here:

Excellence in Teaching Excellence in Teaching

Dr. Rich Grippo received the award for “Excellence in Teaching.” He is professor of environmental biology in the College of Sciences and Mathematics, and completed his Ph.D. at Pennsylvania State University.  Grippo has been a member of the A-State faculty since 1995.

Excellence in Professional Service Excellence in Professional Service

Dr. Philip Tew received the award for “Excellence in Professional Service.”  He is an assistant professor of finance in the College of Business.  Tew completed his Ph.D. at the University of Mississippi and joined the A���State faculty in 2009.

Excellence in Scholarship Excellence in Scholarship

Dr. Zahid Hossain received the award for “Excellence in Scholarship” for his research into the use of novel paving materials.  He is an assistant professor of civil engineering in the College of Engineering.  Hossain, who completed his Ph.D. at the University of Oklahoma, joined the A-State faculty in 2012.

Accessing 'Inside A-State' and Submitting News

Just a reminder . . . If you want to review previous editions, they are available through an archive page, where you also can find additional details about Inside A-State. Anyone may submit faculty and staff information for use in Inside A-State to

21 Retiring Faculty Members have 500+ Years of Service

Twenty-one faculty members who are retiring this academic year were recognized for their service today during the annual Faculty Honors Convocation, according to Dr. Lynita Cooksey, provost and vice chancellor for academic affairs.

“Each of these individuals has made significant contributions to Arkansas State and will be missed by students and colleagues alike,” Dr. Cooksey said.  “Their positive impact on the lives of numerous students is immeasurable and will remain as their legacy.  Collectively, these faculty members have contributed more than 500 years of service to Arkansas State.  They are wished all the best as they begin new journeys beyond the halls of A-State.”

The list, in order of seniority, is led by Sam Gennuso, the longest serving faculty member at Arkansas State.  Each retiree with 10 or more years of service was awarded emeritus status and received a certificate in recognition of their service and contributions to the university.

The retirees and their lengths of service at A-State are (in order of seniority):

  • Mr. Sam Gennuso, assistant professor of English, 51 years.
  • Ms. Nancy Bacot, instructor in teacher education, 41 years (recognized posthumously);
  • Roger Carlisle, professor of art, 40 years;
  • Dr. Lynn Howerton, professor of psychology, 40 years;
  • Dr. Gary Latanich, professor of economics, 33 years;
  • Dr. Tom Parsons, professor of civil engineering, 30 years;
  • Dr. Jeane Harris, professor of English, 28 years;
  • Dr. Bill Humphrey, professor of animal science, 26 years;
  • Ms. Margaret McClain, instructor in first-year studies, 23 years;
  • Dr. David Cox, professor of education, 22 years;
  • Dr. George Foldesy, professor of education and director, Center for Excellence in Education, 22 years;
  • Dr. Victoria Spaniol, assistant professor of English, 22 years;
  • Ms. Lyn Hubbard, associate professor of radiologic sciences, 21 years;
  • Dr. Richard Freer, associate professor of social work, 20 years;
  • Ms. Rebecca Carr, instructor in real estate and accounting, 19 years;
  • Ms. Julia Dunlap, catalog librarian, 15 years;
  • Dr. Clint Relyea, associate professor of management, 14 years;
  • Stan Wooldridge, instructor in mathematics, 14 years;
  • Dr. Ann Ross, associate professor of teacher education, 13 years;
  • Dr. Clyde Milner II, professor of history and director, Heritage Studies Ph.D. program, 12 years;
  • Dr. David Beasley, professor of engineering and dean, College of Engineering, five years.

The Faculty Honors Convocation is hosted by the Office of Academic Affairs and Research to celebrate the achievements of Arkansas State’s faculty.

read more
Excellence in Academic Advising Excellence in Academic Advising

Dr. Jerry Ball received the award for “Excellence in Academic Advising.” A member of the faculty at Arkansas State since 1990, Ball completed his Ph.D. at the University of Tennessee.  He is professor of English in the College of Humanities and Social Sciences.

Articles submitted by: Tom Moore
Read more news from A-State:  News Home Page  |  Inside A-State Archives

To submit content for Inside A-State, email us at