Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

Wind Ensemble, Concert Choir to Present Chancellor’s Concert


JONESBORO – The Department of Music at Arkansas State University will present the Chancellor’s Concert, featuring the Wind Ensemble and Concert Choir, Thursday, March 15, at 7:30 p.m. in Fowler Center’s Riceland Hall.

This is the sixth Chancellor’s Concert presented by the Wind Ensemble and Concert Choir.  The program will include "The Mass of St. Thomas Aquinas" by Martin Ellerby, "Concerto for Tuba and Wind Ensemble" by Gary Ziek, featuring Dr. Ed Owen as soloist, and 'Gloria" by John Rutter. 

Vocal soloists for Ellerby's "Mass" are Quaine Hogan and Ally Summers, both of Jonesboro, Emily Newell of Marmaduke, and Bryanna Sikes of Batesville.

Vocal soloists for Rutter's "Gloria" are Victoria Pulliam of Searcy, Shannon Hughes of West Plains, Mo., and Jeffrey Steward of Oil Trough. Brian Henkelmann is organist.

Dr. Timothy Oliver is conductor of the Wind Ensemble, and Dr. Dale Miller directs the Concert Choir.

Admission is $10, and free to A-State students with an ID.  Tickets may be reserved by calling the A-State Box Office, (870) 972-2781.

For more details about this concert or any other A-State music event, one may contact the Music Department at (870) 972-2094.

                                                    # # #

FowlerCenter 031 web
Fowler Center