Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

Students Inducted into Kappa Tau Alpha Honor Society


JONESBORO – Ten Arkansas State University students were recently inducted into the Kappa Tau Alpha (KTA) honor society in a ceremony on the campus of Arkansas State University.

Kappa Tau Alpha Inductees
Inductees into Kappa Tau Alpha honor society are (First row, from left) – Shawna Martin, Nancy Meador, Steven Rice.  (Second row, from left) – Tristan Bennett, William Bodron, Chapter Adviser Dr. Holly Hall, Jodi Moore, and Jade Sneed.  (Not pictured):  James Hicks, Jennifer Jones, William Henderson.

KTA is a college honor society that recognizes academic excellence and promotes scholarship in journalism and mass communication. Membership is a mark of high distinction and honor.

The students are Tristan Bennett of Carlisle; William Bodron of Higdon; Jennifer Jones of Atlanta, Ga.; William Henderson of Central, S.C.; James Hicks of Simpsonville, S.C.; Shawna Martin of Gassville; Nancy Meador of Cabot; Jodi Moore of Bay; Steven Rice of Little Rock; and Jade Sneed of Sulphur Rock.

Bennett was named the top undergraduate scholar and Hicks the top graduate scholar for the 2019 class.

Only students majoring in journalism and mass communication are eligible. Membership is by invitation only by one of the society’s 96 campus chapters and is based solely on scholarship and character. The seventh oldest national honor society, Kappa Tau Alpha was founded at the University of Missouri in 1910 at the world's first school of journalism.

Dr. Holly Kathleen Hall, associate professor of strategic communication, serves as the A-State chapter adviser and national president (2018-20). Information about Kappa Tau Alpha can be found at kappataualpha.org/.