Welcome to Arkansas State University!
+ Campus notification: Planned Outage This Evening

Scheduled IT Maintenance This Evening

Arkansas State's ITS department will be performing planned hardware upgrades this evening from 5 p.m. until 7 p.m. CST.

During this window, the following internet-based services will be offline:

  • Campus Wireless Internet (including residence halls and Greek Village)
  • Email for Students, Faculty & Staff
  • VPN Services
  • NYIT File Server
  • Banner SFTP Server

For More Information

For further updates on this outage, please check the university’s official website or social media feeds, Facebook.com/ArkansasState or @ArkansasState on Twitter.

More Information
University Communications

Emergency Contact
University Police

Social Media
Facebook Twitter
X Close

News Article

Military Science Department Commissions Two Officers into Army and Army National Guard


JONESBORO -- The Department of Military Science at Arkansas State University today commissioned two ROTC cadets into the United States Army and Army National Guard in a ceremony attended by relatives and friends and university staff.

Retired Lt. Col. Jim Scurlock of Jonesboro, guest speaker for the ceremony, shared lessons from his military career. Scurlock, CEO of Scurlock Holdings, served in several different capacities for the Arkansas National Guard 875th Engineering Battalion, including company commander.

Lt. Col. Cecil L. Clark, professor of military science and department chair, administered the oath to Rebecca Diane Burkhart of Sidney, Ark., and Aaron Michael Tomaszewski of Scott City, Mo.

Cadet Burkhart was commissioned as second lieutenant into the active duty Army, branching to the Adjutant General Corps, and she will be assigned to the 9th Infantry Regiment in Korea. She earned a Bachelor of Science degree in animal science at Arkansas State.

Cadet Tomaszewski was commissioned as a second lieutenant in the Arkansas National Guard. Tomaszewski earned a Bachelor of Science degree in finance.

# # #

ROTC Commissioning Ceremony
Following the officer commissioning ceremony, Lt. Col. Cecil L. Clark (from left) visits with 2nd Lt. Rebecca Burkhart, retired Lt. Col. Jim Scurlock, and 2nd Lt. Aaron Tomaszewski.

Red Wolf Battalion