Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

Media Students Win International Broadcasting System Awards


JONESBORO – Several students from the Department of Media at Arkansas State University were named as winners at the 79thAnnual Intercollegiate Broadcasting System College (IBS) Media Awards March 2 in New York City.

Larz Roberts, instructor of multimedia journalism and faculty adviser for Red Wolf Radio (RWR) and ASU-TV News, said Red Wolf Radio is the winner for best documentary, while ASU-TV won for best comedy. In all, ASU-TV News was a finalist in three categories, and both ASU-TV and Red Wolf Radio were named as finalists in one additional category. There were seven trophies — two winners and five finalists.

IBS Winners
Jacob Stewart (left) and Zach Ruple from ASU-TV and Stephanie Pennington from Red Wolf Radio hold the trophies won by Arkansas State University at theIntercollegiate Broadcasting System (IBS) College Media Awards national awards in New York City.

A finalist honor means the entrants are in the top three-to-five percent of the submission for a particular category. Officials said IBS received a record number of submissions from more than 100 colleges and universities and more than 1,000 competitors.

The IBS trophy awards honored excellence in programming, air personalities, public service efforts and outstanding stations both in high school and college radio and television. IBS presented golden microphone trophies to winners/finalists during the finale of the conference.

Arkansas State’s media department gives students the opportunity to work in a professional setting through its student media outlets comprised of Red Wolf Radio, Delta Digital News Service, ASU-TV, and The Herald, the 97-year-old campus newspaper. Delta Digital News Service provides student content to media outlets at no charge. The department officially becomes the School of Media and Journalism on July 1, 2019.

Intercollegiate Broadcasting System, Inc., is a not-for-profit educational association founded in 1940 that serves as an experienced resource for information, action and help for collegiate radio/television stations. The organization honors excellence in programming, air personalities, public service efforts and outstanding stations with the IBS college and high school radio/TV media awards.