Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

Gov. Beebe appoints Charles Luter to serve on Arkansas State University Board of Trustees


Gov. Mike Beebe announced today that he has appointed Charles Luter of Paragould to the Board of Trustees of Arkansas State University.  (Governor’s Office website: http://governor.arkansas.gov/newsroom/index.php).

Dr. Robert L. Potts, interim president of the ASU System, issued the following statement about Luter’s appointment:

“Charles Luter has been a close friend and advocate for Arkansas State University for many years.  He has given generously to support the university.  He is a booster and enthusiastic fan of Red Wolf athletics, and he has been a primary supporter for ASU in Greene County.  Gov. Beebe and several members of the Board of Trustees know him well, and they are familiar with the knowledge and ability he will bring to Board deliberations.  Mr. Luter will be an outstanding advocate for all of the campuses of the ASU System, and we are looking forward to working with him.”

Luter completed his business administration degree from ASU in 1966.  He has had a successful career in banking and business in Northeast Arkansas (see release from the Governor’s Office).  He also has served as president of the ASU Foundation, Inc., and was named Distinguished Alumnus by the ASU Alumni Association in 1999.

The Board of Trustees has oversight responsibilities for the campuses of the Arkansas State University System, which are in Jonesboro, Beebe, Mountain Home, Newport, Heber Springs, Marked Tree and Searcy, and additional instructional sites.

Board members serve staggered five-year terms.

Luter succeeds Florine Tousant Milligan of Forrest City, who just completed her second term on the board. Other members are Howard Slinkard of Rogers, chair; Ron Rhodes of Cherokee Village, vice chair; Mike Gibson of Osceola, secretary; and Dan Pierce of Jonesboro.

# # #