Welcome to Arkansas State University!
+ Campus alert: A-State Closed Jan. 16

A-State Closed on Jan. 16 due to winter precipitation.

Arkansas State University is closed today, Tuesday, Jan. 16, due to winter precipitation. All winter response staff members are requested to report to their duty stations.

Overnight, snow fall made conditions for students, faculty and staff hazardous.

"Our administrative team determined the snowfall was going to be heavier than forecast and while today was scheduled to be the first day of class for the spring 2018 semester, I've decided it is best that we cancel classes for today," Chancellor Kelly Damphousse said.

All classes at the Jonesboro and Paragould locations are cancelled. Online classes continue.

While offices and classes are closed, university residential life areas continue to operate to support the on-campus student population.

Important Updates

  • The American Spiritual Ensemble will perform at Fowler Center's Riceland Hall tonight at 7:30pm.
  • For students living on-campus, Acansa Dining Hall will operate under "brunch hours" with service from 10:30 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. and then 4:30 p.m. to 6:30 p.m.
  • ETS testing candidates that were scheduled for today should contact the Testing Center in the Reng Student Union at 972-2038 when A-State reopens and they will assist with rescheduling.
  • The Red WOLF Center will open today on winter weather hours of noon until 5 p.m.
  • Dean B. Ellis Library is closed all day today.

For updates on A-State events, please check the university’s official website AState.edu or social media feeds, Facebook.com/ArkansasState or @ArkansasState on Twitter.

More Information
University Communications

Emergency Contact
University Police

Social Media
Facebook Twitter
X Close

News Article

Delta Regional Authority and A-State Leading in Formation of 8-State Research Consortium


JONESBORO – Representatives of 35 universities and other private and public institutions in eight states will join with the Delta Regional Authority (DRA) to form a consortium for research and innovation that will have a long-term positive economic impact on the region.

DRA Federal Co-Chairman Chris Masingill and Dr. Andrew Sustich, vice provost for research and graduate studies at Arkansas State University, issued a joint invitation to assemble the Delta Research Consortium to university research officers and local economic development leadership in the DRA's footprint in Alabama, Arkansas, Illinois, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, and Tennessee.

These institutions will participate in the Delta Research Consortium Leadership Summit at A-State's Dean B. Ellis Library, Thursday and Friday, April 9-10, with key stakeholders in industry and philanthropy.  DRA, Oak Ridge Associated Universities and Arkansas State are sponsors.

“In order to craft effective policies and solutions to address the Delta region’s greatest challenges, we must collaborate across sectors to produce the research, data, and resources to support economic and community growth,” Chairman Masingill said.  ”This consortium will achieve this need by bringing academia, economic development practitioners, policy makers, and local industry together to identify and fulfill the needs of our region’s economy and people.  This leadership summit is the first step in building a regional source for data that drives good decision making for our communities.”

Chairman Masingill will present the keynote address on the opportunities the consortium will create during the leadership summit’s first session on Thursday, April 9.

The other institutions supporting Arkansas State in organizing the summit are Delta State University, Louisiana State University, Mississippi State University, Southeast Missouri State University, University of Memphis and University of Tennessee at Martin.

"The Delta has a strong resource of public and private institutions that have the capacity to provide research and innovation to address the social and economic opportunities and challenges we face," Sustich added.  "We look forward to bringing these partners together to engage in meaningful collaborations that will positively impact our region and our nation."

William David Burns, executive director of the National Center for Science and Civic Engagement, will lead a plenary session for all summit participants during the Friday sessions, which also will include strategy and visioning workshops.

Tennessee State Senator Mark Norris of Collierville will address the group during a dinner Thursday evening.  Norris, the Tennessee state senate majority leader, has been recognized as one of the top 40 state legislative leaders in the country.

Hope Credit Union and Ritter Communications are sponsoring luncheons for the attendees. 

Further information about the research consortium is available by contacting Rebekah Craig at the Arkansas State office of Research and Technology Transfer at rcraig@AState.edu, (870) 972-2694, http://www.AState.edu/research.

Media inquiries may be directed to Spencer Lucker, public affairs officer for the Delta Regional Authority, at slucker@dra.gov or (202) 434-4842.

# # #

Delta Regional Authority Area
47 four-year universities
are located in the counties
and parishes served 
by the
Delta Regional Authority