Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

Concert Orchestra to perform works by Williams, Brahms and Stravinsky, Thursday, Nov. 1


JONESBORO – Members of the Concert Orchestra at Arkansas State University will perform Thursday, Nov. 1, at 7:30 p.m. in Riceland Hall, Fowler Center, 201 Olympic Dr.

The orchestra is under the direction of Dr. Neale Bartee, professor of music in the Department of Music at A-State. Admission is free.

The evening’s performance will include: “Overture to Martha” by Friedrich von Flotow, “Two Pieces from Schindler’s List” by John Williams, “Hungarian Dance No. 5” by Johannes Brahms, “Night on Bald Mountain” by Modeste Mussorgsky, “Dance  of the Tumblers” from “The Snow Maiden” by Nicolai Rimsky-Korsakov, and “Berceuse and Finale” from “The Firebird” by Igor Stravinsky.

Orchestra personnel includes students, faculty and local musicians.  They are:

First Violin: Guy Harrison of Jonesboro, Sarabeth Overcash of Jonesboro, Roby Johnson of Jonesboro, Bill Keisker of Jonesboro, Angelica Shelton of Pine Bluff, and Tanja McKay of Jonesboro.

Second Violin: Yuka Maeda of Hokkaido, Japan, Yachi Wu of Inner Mongolia, China, Hope Smith of Jonesboro, Yoobin Jeong of Seoul, Korea, and Robin Campbell of Pine Bluff.

Viola: Ashley Reeves of Memphis, Tenn., Marcia Burns of Jonesboro, and Kayla Jefferson of Memphis, Tenn.

Cello: Sara Rickman of Conway, Brandon Thomas of Pine Bluff, John Hegger of Jonesboro, Ena Sano of Kawasaki, Japan, Patrick Moore of Jonesboro, and John Thompson of Memphis, Tenn.

Bass: Terrell Montgomery of Fort Smith and Gilbert Byrd of Pine Bluff. Piano:  Tyler Worsham of Keiser.

Flute/Piccolo: Erynn Fenner of Jonesboro, Pershauna Johnson of Blytheville, and Olivia Boatman of Starkville, Miss.

Oboe/English Horn: Joshua Moss of Conway, Tessa Noles of Sikeston, Mo., Erin Graham of Southhaven, Miss., Janie Walls of Wynne, and Michael Baxter of Brookland.

Clarinet: Kaitlyn Simpson-Waddell of Jonesboro, Mindelunn Chen of Guangzhou, China, Taryn Parker of Nettleton, Destany LaFerney of Brookland.

Bass Clarinet: Shelby Rodish of Highland.

Bassoon: Connor Gott of Jonesboro, Chandler Weber of Sherwood, and Jozee Mobbs of Brookland.

Horn: Greg Osborn of Jonesboro, Andrew Webb of Dexter, Mo., Alex Jones of Nettleton, and Micah Glover of Jonesboro.

Trumpet: Landon Miller of Batesville, Crist Blackwell of Batesville, and Christa Burgess of El Dorado.

Trombone:  Alex McClung of Trumann, Andy Hakenewerth of Jonesboro, and Daniel Harrelson of Jonesboro.

Tuba: Eric Barnett of Poplar Bluff, Mo.

Timpani/Percussion: Jordan Ramsey of Griffithville, Heath Rogers of Searcy, Carlos Serna of Monterrey, Mexico, and Tyler Fields of Batesville.

Donations may be made to the Aileen Matthews String Scholarship fund at the ASU Foundation, P.O. Box 1990, State University, AR 72467.

For more information about the concert, contact the Department of Music office at (870) 972-2094. 

# # #