Welcome to Arkansas State University!

News Article

College of Sciences and Mathematics Presents Awards to Top Graduates during Convocation of Scholars


JONESBORO -- The College of Science and Mathematics at Arkansas State University named 20 outstanding graduates as recipients of departmental awards for 2012-13 during the college’s annual honors banquet Monday night, according to Dr. John Pratte, dean of the college.

The Chancellor’s Scholar award was presented to Zachary Marsh of ­Pearcy.  This award is presented to the graduating student with the highest overall grade point average in the respective academic college.  Marsh is a biological sciences major, pre-professional emphasis.

The departmental awards are presented during Convocation of Scholars each year to the graduate in each degree program who has excelled in scholarship, leadership and service to the department.

Those receiving awards and their respective degree programs were:

Hannah Blair of Little Rock and Cheyenne Gerdes of Conway (tie), BS, wildlife ecology and management; Kyle Cassidy of Blytheville, BS, biological sciences (environmental biology emphasis); Aaron Cato of Tyronza, BS, biological sciences; Linda Ogutu of Nairobi, Kenya, BS, biological sciences (pre-professional studies); Christopher Thigpen of Jonesboro, BS, biological sciences (zoology).

Rachel Hampton of Walnut Ridge, BS, forensic science; Nicole Kerperien of Trumann, BA, chemistry; Mulinde Ruyonga of Uganda, BS, chemistry; Sarah Stuckey of Jonesboro, BS, physics.

Derek Escue of Jonesboro, BS, computer science; Trevor Utley of Hot Springs, BA, computer science; Courtney Briney of Corning, BSE, mathematics and statistics; Laura White of Jonesboro, BS, mathematics and statistics.

Graduate student awards were presented to four candidates for the master’s degree and two candidates for doctoral degrees. 

The students and their respective programs were: Su Chen of Beijing, China, and Hsuan Hsiu Ou of Kaohsiung, Taiwan (tie), MS, computer science; Ann Marie Coile of Fairhope, Ala., MS, biology; Travis Harris of Maynard, MS, mathematics and statistics; Teresa Brueggen-Boman of Bowling Green, Mo., Ph.D, environmental sciences; and Walter Acosta-Gamboa of Costa Rica, Ph.D., molecular biosciences.

# # #